You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Securing Your Cryptos (1)

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

You are right. PC/Phone can be hacked. I don't use a iPhone wallet. iOS is safer than Android, but I don't trust it enough. If hardware wallet doesn't support your crypto, you have to use a software wallet. I'll try to cover some ways to make your PC safer. If you have some tips please share.

Sort:  

No doubt you know this, but just so it is said -- I understand from http://www.myetherwallet.com (and other sources) that the safest place for your coin is on a hardware wallet (Trezor, Ledger... there are others just as good as well). Ledgers seem to be the most cost effective solution, but they only come with a low amount of memory -- only enough to store "apps" to access only a few of your coins at a time. If I were to buy a hardware wallet, I'd spend the $120 to buy a Trezor.

Aside from a hardware wallet, the next best place for your crypto is a PAPER WALLET (writing down the key), but make sure you don't write it down incorrectly, or else you've lost your crypto.
There are some funny solutions of people selling paper wallets made out of steel or iron (which would survive a fire), but writing it down on paper is probably sufficient.

Next best thing is to put your crypto on your NON-ROOTED PHONE, in a software wallet.
Obviously this is a huge loss of security, but a phone wallet is more secure than a PC wallet. If you must use a PC wallet (which you must for some coins), just make sure you are not doing anything that would make you a target for hackers. For example, don't run pirated software, don't go on piracy or bittorrent websites, stay away from installing software willy nilly, etc. And, be aware that at any moment your PC can (and eventually will be HACKED). Let's hope you have a good firewall, antivirus, and malware scanner running when they try to get in.

Thanks for the comment. I'm currently writing about hardware wallets which will be posted tomorrow. I also heard about the social hacks for hardware wallets.

I'm not sure there is a good wallet for iOS. Only time I used a wallet on a smartphone is to claim my BTG. I used a test Android phone to do it.

I agree about not installing cracked software. I only use a Mac for crypto wallets. I would be more paranoid if I had to use Windows.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.56
ETH 2523.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36