Google Authenticator and iOS Backup Restore

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

I've got a new iPhone.

I did a full encrypted backup of my old iPhone to iTunes. I reset the old iPhone and gave my old iPhone to my daughter. Then, I restored the backup to my new iPhone. To my surprise, Google Authenticator app was empty.

All my 20+ authenticator sites were gone!

authenticator.jpg

Fortunately I did have a backup device just for the authenticator. I also had screenshots of most authenticator QR codes in an encrypted disk.

So it was not too much of a problem to bring my authenticator codes to my new iPhone.
For sites with backup QR codes the process was easy.
But for sites only in my backup authenticator device, I had to disable 2FA and setup a new one.
During the process, I found 0.1 ETH in a semi-closed Chinese exchange and withdrew to my wallet :)

If I didn't have the backup QR codes and backup authenticator device, it would have been a nightmare.

I'm not sure why Google Authenticator backup was not restored, but it seems I'm not the only one.

If you get a new iPhone, do NOT reset your old iPhone before migrating Google Authenticator.

And make sure you have a emergency plan for everything crypto related.

Sort:  

Good tip. Thanks for the share.

this is a major security flaw on Google's end in my opinion.. I have 15 very important accounts set up with 2FA login using the Google Authenticator App.. thank you for sharing this! up-voted and shared to my Facebook group – http://facebook.com/groups/afinocrypto – I hope that no one experiences that without doing research first! the would be catastrophic for a lot of people, especially those in the cryptocurrency space with money stored on various sites

Can I ask you how did you back up your codes? I'm now thinking that I should also get a backup somewhere, but I can't find any option in my Google Authenticator app.

I take screenshot of the QR code before registering the code. You should take it before entering the 6 digit code to register since it will disappear. Google Authenticator doesn't provide backup function, and I think it's by design for security reasons.

what do you do if you didn't take a screenshot? do you use the "secret" code and somehow able to use that?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56