EOS VOICE: Not MEOS, and not that spectaculair

On many social media outlets and crypto news sources, there has been talk the last few weeks about the Block.one news event on June 1st and there have been a lot of speculations as to what their news would be.
Personally, I was curious too since some people said this new platform would become the death of Steem, so I had to see for myself what all the fuss was about.

image.png
source

The presentation, which can be seen here started off with an intro by the Block.One CEO Brendan Blumer and Dan Larimer, followed by news about a new kind of crypto key to protect valuable information, like crypto keys etc.
OK, something like that would be great and valuable to people who want to protect their assets. But not something that can't be copied and I'm sure there will be others who come up with similar ideas in the near future.

Then there was news about EARN on Coinbase, where you can earn EOS and other coins by watching videos and completing simple tasks on Coinbase. Well, great. But I checked it, and it turns out you won't be able to trade these coins, but only use it for the coins' utility, which is...what exactly? To be honest, if I decide to trade a few coins myself, I can probably earn more and actually use it. Not trying to cut down their efforts here, but this may be a nice feature for people who are just entering crypto space, but for traders? Hardly.

The big news everyone was waiting for

Turned out not to be that big. In all honesty, most of us were already expecting EOS to come with something social media related, and some even gave it a name: MEOS. However, this was quickly swept off the table when Dan Larimer told us that their new product was called: VOICE, with their own voice token.

According to Dan, the platform was going to award tokens just for signing up and showing up every day, and for posting you can earn voice tokens by upvote. However, this will come from another user's stash.
If you want to get your voice heard, you don't need a lot of followers, but instead, you can use the tokens.
So if I get this right, only people with a lot of tokens can be heard? Is it just me, or does this sound familiar?
He also promised that internet trolls and bullies would not be able to get very far on Voice, but my question would be: how can they control this if it's decentralized? And even bullies and trolls have their own fanbase usually, so I don't see how they will implement this. Who will decide who's a troll or not? The community? Again: even trolls have fans.

Another thing Dan said has me puzzled. And that is about the token not being mined or sold. So no investor can buy these things. Is that a good thing? I'm not sure. It's also still on the EOS blockchain, so in reality, there is no valuable voice token and it's all just EOS. Unless we can trade these tokens, but if you can't buy them, you won't be able to trade with them either right?

Steem versus Voice

I think there is nothing to worry about in this regard. Steem is Steem, voice is an EOS token.
The platform will have to prove itself first. Like some of the others who tried.

When the voice platform starts, I will definitely check it out, but there is no way I will even consider leaving Steem for it.
To me, this 'news' that people were waiting for is worth a 'meh'...as in M...eos. They will have to work hard to make it into a true VOICE.

What do you think?

Thank you for reading!



steemitrevolutionmisslasvegas.gif

steemitrevolution.gif

Sort:  

VOICE indeed is a great brand name !

Oh, it absolutely is. I wish I would have come up with it hehehe.
But the product just doesn't sound like it'll live up to the name.
I guess we'll see.

To be honest I had totally forgot they were releasing a new project. It doesn't really bother me. I am on STEEM, I enjoy what I do here and have no intention of leaving.

We have seen a lot of developments and improvements in the past 6 months with more on the way. We have the apps and the community that they want so as it stands STEEM is still the place to be. A new social media might be competition but it's not our problem. If the price of STEEM hits a dollar you can be sure everybody who left of took a break will flood back here.

yes you are right.. now everyone is gone. but i would say that another decentralize is death already like blockpress, while steemit is keep on going.

Yes, Steem doesn't have to worry about this at all. It's a completely different kind of social media platform and they will have to prove themselves first.

Absolutely! And the way it was pointed out by others, this VOICE will basically be a Twitter clone. I'm not sure how they even will be able to build communities on that. Twitter isn't really known for their communities. And you're right: STEEM has the apps and community that wants to make it a success and see it grow. It's the place to be for sure!

To be honest I literally don't care what they are doing. I've plenty here to keep me entertained and that's exactly where i want to be.

I watched the whole video. It was painful. Just a huge advert for coinbase imo. Very unimpressive or inspiring.

My takeaway from the video is that they have recreated a reddit type platform that gives you voice tokens that have zero tradable value but will inspire people to upvote the best content out of the goodness of their hearts...just like FB!?

Who has the time or inclination to do this kind of activity?

Of course the answer is. The general and ignorant of crypto members of the public.

This could be a vehicle for mass adoption of the concept of crypto regardless of the token value.

I can see a future where these voice tokens may be used as a form of reward points like air miles. They could be used as coupons for discounted products etc.

I could be wrong but this is what the presentation said to me.

Steem on. This is no competition for our unique blockchain.

I got an account just in case I am wrong but I doubt it.

Big business including the banks have been searching for a way to onboard the masses.
Banks want to get out of cash handling. One of their biggest costs.

This is the first step in the reeducation of the masses and the total loss of any idea of financial sovereignty.

That's my two cents worth. 😴

Yeah, it wasn't inspiring at all. And the other presentations kinda took away from the Voice presentation.
Like you said: coinbase advert sounds about right!
I mean even Facebook is coming with crypto now... so what will this add to the blockchain?
On the other hand, it might be a great way to promote Steem :)

"And that is about the token not being mined or sold. So no investor can buy these things. Is that a good thing?"
This not look good ... Sorry I not like this IDEA .


Look ... my page is like my company here and personal property, so i must have to be able to do anything with it or sell it if I want .

Exactly. Their idea still sounds way too centralized to me. And I believe something like it has already been tried and it failed.

I was expecting something great and at the end I even didn't sign up Lol🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

It sounds like crap already. Seriously these people might be smart at block chain but they suck ass at creating good quality ideas. U can't buy voice tokens so my guess is u can't sell them either. Then what is the point?

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, that was exactly my thought. Just seeing Dan Larimer all awkwardly on that stage was almost painful to watch. I had great expectations when I started watching, as I truly expected something visionary, but was very disappointed to see he was just trying to sell another form of Twitter in an EOS token jacket.

Hey @misslasvegas,

Your account is now 2 years old!

🎂 🎂 Happy Steemversary  🎂 🎂

Thanks for sticking around this long and believing in the future of this community.


My Steemversary is a smart bot that rewards active steemians on their account's anniversary. We use a bunch of tools to filter out inactive/blacklisted users and bots. Our goal is to gift these users a decent upvote. Please consider helping us grow by delegating to our bot [5SP10SP25SP50SP100SP500SP1000SPCustom Amount] or by simply upvoting this comment.

I think we should get our shit together here, and make this coin worth 3 USD again.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @misslasvegas! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

U put all my f-words about Voice in polite manner)) TY)

Hehehe, that's funny. And that was hard to do! But tried to keep it as objective as possible.
Thanks for making me laugh @mrgreen!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87