Post 1 - Building Mining Rig - Researching

This is Day 1 to my serious decision to build a mining rig. I have pondered over this for a few weeks now and have finally decided to take the plunge.

I am going to document this process via written word and video.

Today I begin my research in earnest, and decide how much I am going to invest in this endeavor. There is truly so much out there to learn and fortunately for YouTube and DTube there are great resources to help this process. Now my intention is to build in phases. So I will most likely start the rig on a smaller budget with 1 high end video card, as it looks most of the other components are relatively inexpensive and the GPU being the most expensive.

Once I get the system built and running I can expand/upgrade. My initial thought is to be able to move with 1 card to produce on average of $6 or $7 per day after cost of electricity, then with next phase would be to ramp up to $50 per day.

Please follow my progress and provide comments pro or con during this process.

Sort:  

So my next step is to select the right GPU. Any recommendations?

Not my area of expertise. I would look for the best ROI and work from there to find availability. Availability is a challenge.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51