Is DASH Gonna CRASH?

As a relative newcomer to the world of crypto I was awfully excited to get in and buy the odd coin with my steem.

In fact I built up quite the splendid little portfolio and was a little dismayed after Christmas at the seeming never-ending downturn in just about every coin I held and I held about 11!

Recently with all the chatter on DASH I bought a couple. The price then rocketed. I was like Wha?!?! It was quite a spectacular rise.

The big question I have though, well there are two. I am greedy that way.

The first is, is DASH peaking and getting ready to tank? If so, how low could it go?

The second question is. Where do all you cryptocurrency dudes get your news from? At least semi-reliable as I have not had much luck getting anything beyond wild rumours on bitcoin. The best place I have found for crypto news is in fact here on steemit.

And the third question. (See greedy for questions above) If it tanks, would it be worth holding? Will it indeed potentially rise like a phoenix from the flames?

What upcoming events lie in DASH's future this year?

I didn't mark that question as number four because I am also cunning and was hoping for four answers for the price of two

Any advice appreciated!

Sort:  

Well it could go to the moon or the grave, like any coin. You should research what the project is and if you do or would use it, there's no other way to get reliable news cause there are a myriad of factors that go into price movements.

For your third question, I'd say it's only worth holding if you believe in the project. I've tried several coins on a speculative basis and they always go down, but the ones I choose because I do or would use them have seemed to go up (excluding steem, but again there are myriad reasons for it's price movement).

Your cunning 4th question is easily answered by EVOLUTION! Allegedly it will make having a dash account simple enough for grandma to use. I personally have bright hopes for what the Dash team is doing, and it's the first infrastructure and governance model that I (as a crypto noob) can absolutely wrap my head around in no time.

I got into dash some because of @thedashguy and later when @stellabelle endorsed Amanda B Johnson, who is quite adept at cutting through the jargon and speaking like the average, non-crypto user person.

Good luck with your investment, boom boom! I was holding dash at usd $20 so I'm definitely pleased. After learning more about evolution, I got some more. Also got some Pivx because it answered the one question I had about dash's governance model.

I hope I helped to answer your deliciously deceitful questions ;)

You have answered them very well! I also bought a little pivx based on what I had read in your post. There was a lot of good information there and I managed to get in before the price rose too dramatically so am still up as it were.

Excellent advice Mr Pru! I shall be doing all of the above and more. Its what they pay me for. Actually they don't they pay me to work but hey you gotta have a sideline :O)

I'm glad I could help!!

Yeah, I caught Pivx and then it went up usd .10 that same day. Do you think we're finally starting to see btc dispersal through the coins? Dash, monero, factom, etc, etc, are all trending up. It's either the start of a new era or a BLOODBATH in the making.

... I sure wish BTC had a clearly defined community of stakeholders that could vote like Dash has... I suspect if it did it would've taken over much more ground than currently.... not that I'm complaining when I bought btc at USD 500-700.

There is certainly something in the water lately. I worried after christmas at the state of it all and started to think it was all a collosal honey trap for the crypto noobs as every coin I held tanked.

Then recently some of the ones I had been holding out of sheer bravado started shooting up and getting me out of shit-coin jail as it were.

It could still be a bloodbath in the making though!

So is there common belief in the Dash community that pivx will do well as Dash has?

I would NOT speak for the Dash community, but I can't imagine so. Pivx is a fork of dash and there's only minute differences, like the seesaw mechanism between masternodes and staking to discourage Mn consolidation.

If I had to guess I'd say Dash ain't worried bout Pivx

I need to read up on it.
Thanks, @prufarchy! :)

I wouldn't sell Dash until at least March 30th. There are rumors rolling that Dash will become available for purchase on Coinbase. The Dash team has an announcement coming on the 30th and many expect the exchange they are working with is Coinbase.

As far as Crypto news, we have two guys here on Steemit that I follow. @crypto and @marketingmonk. They both have YouTube channels and post nearly every day.

Now that is fantastic. Thank you. I shall follow these two and watch avidly!

I was kinda intending to hold but a lot of the posts I read speak of holding with something akin to revulsion at times!

You are most welcome my friend.

Haha. Yes, the emotions with Dash right now are enjoyable to read.

you should really watch @craig-grant - he posts daily, is down like fam, and has that good, clean energy. Great dude.

He definitely has energy. I have a hard time taking him serious sometimes. Haha.

You should always take everything with a grain of salt. If you do not feel the energy, do not pursue that energy. Always do what's right to you.

I'm more of a reader so I don't watch many videos (Nyc subway etc) but I often click on his. Also, I have not done genesis mining because I do not feel that energy at this time.

He's dead serious.

The question is, would you buy at this price? If not, then I would think about selling. Even if Dash is added to Coinbase, that rumor is probably baked in.

I loved Dash one year ago, had a bunch at $6, wish I would have held on!

I had a bunch of shadowcash ages ago that I feel the same way about. I sold them at a profit but now when I look at the price I wince because they have gone up so much more after a while in the doldrums!

I wouldn't buy at this price, so thats certainly a good piece of advice to mull on

I hear ya! Of course you could always hold DASH for a short while and see what happens. It's always hard when you sell and the price goes up, but there are so many opportunities in crypto-land!

That's true. One thing I learned from reading is the selling when something peaks then bying back in when it crashes a little which sounds so basic but is just something you dont think of when starting out. Of course, making sure you get the timing right can be tricky!

I will hold for now. I am still well in profit as I bought in awfully low so can watch and stroke my chin meaningfully whilst the missus thinks I am playing Doom

Sounds like you have it under control, great strategy!

Hehe, Cheers!

ugh, I had a BUNCH of Shadowcash SDC when I was learning crypto and trying to buy things that aligned with my ideas.... I bought it for like .20 cents and hadn't learned patience yet. No joke, I'd be rich right now if I'd have just chilled out and not stared it at it for so long :(

But to be fair, I didn't understand much of crypto and my research uncovered weird dynamics in the dev team so I decided to sell it.... again no joke, the next day it went up to 1.25

Haha, that's like me. I bought it when it was thirty odd cents and sold when it bumped up to eighty. I should have held! You would think all my years of poker playing against the roughest denizens of Glasgow would have taught me something!

My gut feeling is Dash will be under $50 by year's end. Just sayin.

Strong words! Yeah, I ma be holding for the now but thats a long time and I would hope to be out by then. Unless there is some kind of silly moonshot of course lol

There are also a lot of slack groups which you can join. There is over for practically every coin where people talk about them.
A particularly good one I found is the market talk part of the exodus slack. Exodus isn't a coin but there are good people hanging out in there.
Take anything you hear on any of these groups with a grain of salt though. It could be a shark pumping the price.

I have heard of that tactic yes. The old rumour mill to get people frothing at the mouth and being rash.

Thanks, thats a great idea. I was on Slack before but didn't really know the channels to keep an eye on. I shall be getting back on it. Thank you very much!

Try Coinfund, cryptocopia too

I will do I am compiling a doc with handy links in it as I think my browsers bookmark bar is starting to groan with the weight of crypto links I have in it :O)

Ha ha mine too.

Thank you for posting @meesterboom.

Two resident Steemians may have some information you can use with very recent posts regarding DASH.

@twinner and @kingscrown

Hope this is helpful.

Wishing you and yours all the best. Cheers.

Thank you @bleujay. Very helpful. I wasnt following twinner but I see they have very detailed posts!

Give @nanzo-scoop a look as well.....

Aaahh, got that one already!! But thank you!!

Timing markets are impossible, i've made plenty of losses over the years. Think of a sell point, loss or profit and stick to it :) but if you listen to me you will likely make losses

I was thinking that on the timing before. Sometimes it felt like my laptop was bugged. If i bought a coin it tanked. If i sold it it went up. But but by bit i got a little better.

I like the advice though, i started selling at ten to fifteen percent above the buy rate regardless and that worked well. Till January anyway lol

Oooooh, I'll be watching this thread! I want to know, too.

Top notch. I presume you are in a similar situation!

No, just curious...I was going to trade for DASH when it was at $12 and chose not to.

So that kinda hurts now, but I've been waiting for it to bottom out for a second chance. Haha

Second chances are always good!

If they come, that is. Lol

dash and crash rhyme

coincidence?

I think not.

Lol, I thought the same when I was typing the header!

Last night i was in a panic to try and muster up funds to buy some PIV because i new the price was ready to drop. I was going through all my old accounts etc and found an old electrum 2.4 wallet on my main pc, then i realized i was using it to send back and forth for testing to my laptop using the same wallet...i must have just moved to something else but to my surprize i had dash in both wallets and was shocked. Was a mission to get it out of the electrum 2.4 because of an error message so i had to export private keys then import through the console in Dash CORE wallet...but what a surprize when you didnt even know you had a nice amount of dash tucked away on a wallet.......I think Dash wil most likely blowup after the announcment and with Evoloution on the horizon I cant see it crashing infact i think it will do the opposite. For most of us now owning a DashMasternode is impossible, so thats why PIVX is so attractive right now.

Wow that must have been awesome to find you had some from when it was dirt cheap! The struggle to get it out must have been a titanic thing and well worth it in the end!

I am with you and not going to sell based on all I have heard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14