You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Crypto Weekly: What is Ripple? Why is Ethereum so slow? ICO tokens being delisted?

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

When I signed up for Ripple it was a service for P2P and IOUs. It was a total trip to log back in a couple years later to see how they changed their business model to focus on banks, and my tokens then represented nothing in their new business model. I was like... Noppeee... XRP is not for me and got out. Definitely felt lied to about the direction of the platform. BTW the waybackmachine can verify their early marketing was p2p and iou focused.

Sort:  

I did the same thing Max... Back in 2006. I thought it was really cool tech. I was equally surprised when this other Ripple company showed up and was giving away a new XRP token to Boinc participants. If I'd put a few hundred $ into XRP back then if be retired already.

I believe that Ripple Inc bought the original Ripple IOU system - or it was some of the original founders?

Interestingly we are basically reinventing the original Ripple concept with payment channels off the ETH and BTC blockchains (Raiden and Lightning). I think that validates the original idea was sound. Only dPoS based blockchains are doing anything different that doesn't need channels, because they are just fundamentally fast in the first place.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59292.67
ETH 2590.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47