QUESTION: What are some promising but undervalued Cryptos?steemCreated with Sketch.

And please tell why. I would like to diversify my portfolio a little.

Sort:  

Here's my list:

  1. LBRY is a promising concept, they have a prototype, active community and just $1M market cap.
  2. MAIDSAFE is at $70M, but once they make it work, it will be ground breaking. I think it will emerge as some kind of a de-facto standard. The potential is huge.
  3. SIA. It has much less visibility than STORJ, but from what I've heard, the tech is probably better. You can already store your files on the network.
  4. BITSHARES. It is probably the most complete second generation blockchain with some incredible features. The marketing is the opposite, which is why it is valued only at a fraction of some bitcoin clones.
  5. STORJ has a lot of hype, but I still think there's potential as an investment. They are good at UX and marketing.

STEEM will probably make the undervalued list once power-down's and power-up's approach 1:1 ratio.

how do you buy these currencies? im so new to this.

  1. Get some cryptocurrency.
    a. Buy some from a friend
    b. Get an account on a cryptocurrency exchange which accepts Fiat (normal money). DuckDuckGo for bitcoin south africa. Send in your Fiat money and exchange it for Bitcoin
  2. Get an account on Bittrex. There you can exchange your bitcoin for most any of the cryptocurrencies.
  3. Move your cryptocurrency away from the exchange to your own wallet.

Also have a look at Bit20. I am writing a series of articles about it, the first of which is here. It is an index for the top 20 cryptocurrencies, so it will likely always rise in value.

Awesome, thanks.

MAIDSAFE is definitely one for the future. At the moment is is full of technical problems and the forum itself is not very friendly. This is why the price goes up and down like yoyo. I always buy when it goes very very low. It always goes up again.

DASH must be considered a good investment. It is a highly efficient service, even Roger Ver has recently used it which has sent a big signal. It also has a marketing plan that most corporations would kill for.

POT coin made me laugh at first but the idea behind it is not silly. When people buy canabis, even in state where it is legal, it means they have to carry cash. This leaves them open to being mugged. Paying online with POTcoin removes this danger. I bought some a while back. It recently went up and I made a small profit- It is still early days as yet though,

BURST is one of the most promising in my opinion. It is already being called "the bitcoin for the working class". It is still very early days but its revolutionary way of mining makes it the only real decentralised coin in the crypto world at the moment. This could be really big in the future, I would start mining rather than buying though.

This is only my own opinion and not financial.
Always research yourself and never take other peoples opinions as gospel.

I have been trying to diversify my portfolio too but I keep coming back to bitcoin as the best way to diversify. Alts in my opinion are a punt. Of the top 20 coins I think dash, monero, steem, ETH all offer something different and valuable.
I agree with your point on maidsafe and I would add two more to check out. Augur and factom.

There seems to be lots of interest in Augur, but I wonder why people aren't flocking to Bitshares, which already has prediction markets. Could the reason be that people need both a solution and hype to be able to believe enough to invest in flock? Actually based on valuation, it looks like people value uncertain promises + hype more than actual solutions. That's uncomfortable to me, because I find it difficult to estimate the effectiveness of hype, which seems to be an important part of the potential. Then I end up owning coins of projects that have delivered, but for which there is little demand.

Thanks for pointing out Factom. I must have a deeper look at it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54