TUTORIAL: How to access your Bitcoin Gold 💰 and then spend or sell it (Ledger Nano S)

It is finally time to get access to your Bitcoin Gold.

Let’s start by having a quick look at the Bitcoin Gold price chart…
https://www.coinigy.com/?r=16171fe8

The price has almost double in the last few days but is still way off it’s all time high.

Some people will have left their Bitcoin on an exchange and been able to trade their Bitcoin Gold immediately, whereas I’m more conservative, patient or cautious, whatever you want to call it.

As you regular viewers will know I use and recommend the Ledger Nano S hardware wallet so I’m assuming you took my advice and had your Bitcoin in your Ledger wallet when the Bitcoin Gold snapshot was taken.

If you don’t yet have a Ledger hardware wallet then click on my referral link in the video description, get yourself one and support The Cryptoverse at the same time.
https://www.ledgerwallet.com/r/d1da

Step 1 is to make sure you have the latest version of the Ledger Bitcoin wallet app installed.

To check that go to Settings and the version number down here should be higher than 1.9.9. I have 1.9.10 so I’m good.

Step 2 is to make sure your Ledger hardware wallet has a firmware version that is version 1.3.1 or higher.

To check that you use the buttons on the device, quit any apps that you have open so you can get to the settings from the main menu.

Then select, device, then firmware, and mine says Secure Element 1.3.1 so I’m good to proceed.

Step 3 is to install the Bitcoin Gold app on your Ledger device.

To do that you need to close the Bitcoin wallet app on your computer. You may still have this open from when you checked the version number.

On my computer the Bitcoin Gold app is listed at the bottom.
The first time I tried this I got an error message saying the storage on my Ledger device was full.

That meant I had to delete the LiteCoin app temporarily to free up some space. It’s OK to remove the apps because it doesn’t affect your coins, you just re-install the app later.

To remove an app from your Ledger wallet you just click the delete button here from the Ledger Manager.

Once you’ve installed the Bitcoin Gold app it should appear in the menu on your Ledger hardware wallet screen.

Now you can close the Ledger Manager and open up your Bitcoin wallet app.

Now open up the newly installed Bitcoin Gold app on your Ledger device.
Click on the BTG Split Tool which is hidden down there.

When the Bitcoin Gold snapshot was taken, I had my Bitcoin in my segwit wallet so I’ll choose Segwit.

Because I’ve already done this once it went straight in, however the first time you do it you’ll need to wait for the wallet to sync.

Once it has synced, boom, you are done. You have access to your Bitcoin Gold to spend or to send to an exchange if you want to sell them.

Just 2 weeks to go until RealTalk event in London
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/tony-dadas-realtalk-special-guest-cryptoversity-ceo-chris-coney-tickets-39573780242?aff=cryptoversity

Another quick reminder that you have until Friday to book tickets to my live event on the 3rd of December.

After that we launch advertising campaigns to the wider public and we only have 26 tickets left.

Sort:  

Hope it continues up !

Just got my Nano S and will use it in the future for forks!!! Thanks for the step by step tutorial.

Thank you for doing this video! I have a trezor and they just put out there split tool as well, but great video, keep it up!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70