Crypto guide for rookies PART-1

Hello everyone. I've been a silent member of the Steemit community for some time and I can summarize the reason in one line below.

I recall my professor sharing his thoughts about research papers a decade or more ago when I was doing bench research with him.

There's enough junk out there....try not to add to it.

I've come to realize that I am not much of a writer. I try not to say much unless I have something meaningful to add. However, over the past few months I have compiled lists that I think are worth sharing for crypto newbies like me. So I hope someone benefits from this.

Note-Always secure your keys, recovery phrases and use Google authenticator. Also consider adding your IP address to the trading websites for enchanced security.

Where to buy cryptocurrency-Limits apply.

  1. Coinbase.com- Bitcoin, Ether and Litecoin
  2. ABRA-Bitcoin
  3. Glidera.io-Good luck trying to get your ID approved

Where to trade/exchange cryptocurrencies/Altcoins:

  1. Poloniex.com
  2. Bittrex.com
  3. Kraken.com-Recently in the news due to bitcoin price hike
  4. Bitstamp.net-safest option from what I've heard

It is not recommended to store your cryptocurrency on an exchange.

Where to store cryptocurrencies:
Online/Mobile

  1. Jaxx Wallet-Bitcoin, Ether, Ether Classic, Dash, Augur, Litecoin, Zcash, Dogecoin, Golem, Iconomi, Gnosis, DigixDao
  2. Blockchain wallet-https://blockchain.info- Bitcoin
  3. Exodus wallet-BTC, ETH, Dash, Golem, Litecoin, Dogecoin, Augur
  4. Myetherwallet-Ether, ETC and alternative coins

Jaxx and Exodus have shapeshift on board-Allows you to convert one crypto to another
Exodus/Blockchain wallet can be used to receive mining payouts.

Hardware wallets-Safest option to store your crypto:

  1. Trezor-BTC
  2. Keepkey-BTC
  3. Ledger Blue/Ledger Nano-https://www.ledgerwallet.com/products-BTC, ETH, Litecoin, Dogecoin, Zcas, Dash, Stratis, Ripple. Not available for shipping until July 31st 2017

How to stay uptodate with everything:

  1. Steemit
  2. BTCnews-available for download on iphone etc

This is for information purposes only. Any suggestions are welcome. Does anyone have any experience lending their crypto on Poloniex etc? Please share.

Thank you.

Sort:  

Solid post. I was about to post a similair thread. Buy and hold for the upcoming 2 to 5 years and the market will find it's way. I was researching a way to do better investment analysis on the current cryptos. Does anyone know about: https://www.coincheckup.com They researched and analyzed every tradable coin out there from a investment, team, product, transparency perspective. Really interesting.