Poloniex Scam

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Howdy all,

I recently had an experience with an application provided by android play store for mobile devices that apparently If I have read the reviews, would have known to be malicious software and avoided but unfortunately I didn't read the reviews and had to freeze my Poloniex account and remove access to my email account that I linked to the application.

Screenshot_20170917-190026.png
Screenshot_20170917-190033 (1).png

After allowing linked access to this application on my phone , I received the following emails back to back.

![Screenshot_20170917-142523.png]
()
Screenshot_20170917-142536.png

These are all screen shots of my phone, last 2 photographs look at the time on them, back to back same time.
All this because I wanted to have access to sell, buy or trade while I was on the road. I had to freeze my entire Poloniex account because I couldn't log back in because the password was changed, remove all poloniex access in accounts in my email permissions and find a new exchange. Good luck hope this doesn't happen to you!!

Sort:  

Congratulations @madrussian! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

alhamdulillah polonix sudah selama 2 tahun kami bekerja tidak terjadi kendala apapun

tumblr_mp8pvfF6b41s3usq8o1_250.gif

Thanks for the comment, I can't find the translation on it though.

thanks for warning,but the email looking legal and same the address, am i right

Email looked legit, I didn't click anything in the email, except when I cashed out, to freeze the account, I did it from the desktop away from where the application was, because I was not sure if the phone was infected. Either way, after I cashed out, I logged out, and tried to log back in, it told me incorrect password, so that confirmed to me that those 2 emails were in fact legit, and one thing for sure, I did not make the request for change. So that new application has to be the issue at hand.

thanks for the heads up; I will be sure to read reviews on apps in the future!

Me too! :)

I wouldn't download an app for a cryptocurrency exchange from any app store, unless I have a link to that particular app store right from the exchange.

Just common sense.

Extreme care will be taken in the future regarding anything crypto in my world that I can say!!!

Crazy right! Well it led me to another exchange that I am 10 times happier with, they can have the Poloniex that I froze the account with. It has no money it.

Congratulations @madrussian! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks for the warning. I hope your problem was resolved quickly.

It was, I pulled my money out of it, froze the account and said goodbye to Poloniex, now unto another exchange that I am very happy with.

Congratulations @madrussian! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55093.98
ETH 2894.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22