Rules to Stop Misinformation in CryptoCurrency

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

I don't consider myself an expert in crypto-currency.
I am not a seasoned investor.
I have taken finance classes but I am by no means qualified, yet I tend to be a skeptical of even sourced material and news concerning crypto-currency.

Yet something really bothers me about Crypto Hype.

What I mean is the pattern I've observed over the last weeks.

It goes something like this:
1. A coin will be worth practically nothing.
2. A "partnership" will be announced from a dubious source and spread by amateur investors.
3. The price will pump and gradually fall to nothing.

Po.et and Tron are two examples.

Now full disclosure. I do hold Po.et. I invested because I like the concept and it has a real world purpose. Yet if you go and have a look at the sub Reddit it is nearly completely unmoderated and just has wild speculation.

On the other side you could look at Stellar's sub Reddit. It is carefully moderated and nonsensical postings are swiftly removed and as such the community is thriving.

Moving forward, I think it will do ourselves and the community a hell of a lot of good if we hold ourselves to some basic rules before posting about a coin or investing.

MADMAN'S ANTI HYPE RULES
The first is very simple. Don't repost anything without sourcing where you found the information.
The second is to Scrutinize the information. Is the announcement relevant or is this just FOMO?
The Third and final rule is Can I easily explain why I invested in this to my mother?
If the answer is no you haven't done your research properly.

If we can all adhere to these simple rules we can not only make smart investing decisions for ourselves, but we can spot the spread of fake hype.

Thank you all for reading!

Feel free to spread the Message!

@MadMan198

Sort:  

Congratulation

Today one year ago you joined SteemIt
Thank you, for making SteemIt great and Steem on for more years to come!

(You are being celebrated here)

nice post, thank you for the detail ;)

Thanks @thomasfarley, feel free to Spread the rules around!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @madman198 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Thanks @Arthursen, I was getting frustrated with the lack of critical thinking in Crypto!

Great Post! People need to do their research before buying into the hype and perpetuating the distribution of mis-information. Like you, I only considering buying into a specific coin if it appears to help resolve a real world problem.

Thanks @joelfriedman68 Feel free to spread these rules or add more to the list!

Congratulations! 🎉 Your Steemversay has arrived. One year ago today you made your steem account along with 229 others. You are one of 4 users who have posted in the last week. Well done you.

I've upvoted your post, I hope it helps. Happy Steemversay ✌️;

p.s I'm a new bot, I've only been alive 15 days :)
Learn more about SteemVersary and view awards at Steemversary

Congratulations @madman198! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14