My Cryptocurrency Spreadsheet Works Again! And a Review of CryptoCompare.com

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Cryptocurrency is booming right now and like many, I'm getting a lot of dopamine through constantly watching my holdings go up in value. Last week I was disappointed to see my Cryptocurrency Bank Spreadsheet throwing errors. I figured out it was hitting the rate limit for the Google domain:

I emailed cryptocompare.com and they got back to me within 24 hours! Here's their response:

Sorry about it, you are not the only one that reached out. I've put a limit of 4k requests pe hour last week because somebody was requesting stupid amounts of data from the minute historical. On the price side, I don't really mind, we can serve as many requests as needed, it's historical that I was intending on limiting.

You are right, it is from a google IP not from your own IP. I have just increased the limit per hour on the price path for 40k per IP and for the history paths I've left it at 1k.

Sweet! It works again. Prompt customer support is a beautiful thing. I'm still waiting for Poloniex to get back to me.

While my spreadsheet was down, I took the time to input my portfolio into CryptoCompare's Portfolio system. It's quite impressive! I like the graphs and how it's constantly updating to give you the latest prices. Hurray dopamine!

You can put in your buys as open positions and then close them out as sales. That's a bit tricky though. For example, if you buy 1k of something 4 times and then try to sell, say 2,371 of them, you'll have to close out the first one for 1k, then the second for 1k, then the third by only 371 after doing a little math. That can be a bit annoying, so when bringing in my portfolio, on some of them, I just entered the total I had and the amount I spent and entered that in with the current date. Maybe some day I'll bother to put in the specific buys and sells on specific dates, but right now that seems like more trouble than it's worth.

Check out CryptoCompare and let me know what you think of it.

The percentages you see there on the right are from the various coins I'm currently into.

It's a good time to be in crypto indeed. :)

Do you think we've hit the top? Should we all be taking some profits now that the mainstream media is talking about it again, like they did in 2014?


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, voluntaryist, and blockchain enthusiast. He wants to help create a world we all want to live in.

Sort:  

Update (it was hitting the new API limit again):

Great to see that spreadsheet!

I've used Cryptocompare in the past, but I just wasn't pleased so I switched to Blockfolio.
If anyone wants to use that, you can get it here:

App for Android
App for Iphone

I think Blockfolio is really neat, but I just can't bring myself to set everything up on my phone. Seems like it would take forever. I wish they had an import function or something.

It's always nice seeing all greens in the portfolio!

Congratulations @lukestokes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Thanks. Since steemverify isn't really a thing anymore (at least not like it was), so I went ahead and updated my normal signature to add my steemitboard stuff. Who doesn't enjoy a little gamification? :)

Dopamine, eh? THAT explains it.

HODLer here. But trying to be realistic: that which I bought at 10 cannot climb to 200 then climb to 500 then...or can it?

I am worried myself that this is starting to hit the end of the curve. We've been in a bull market for 3 months, and no one can be upset with the great earnings if we've been along the whole time. Some believe that some coins such as ETH will keep rising, new interesting projects are still being built with great technology that may bring upheaval to BTC and ETH in a few years time. Even if it's the end of the bull market now, just need to wait until it comes back up.

I think it all comes down to tech, marketing insulation, and utility...the survivors will be the ones who have the best tech when the bubble bursts...
Ethereum is still only potential, yet, if they can get the platform moving, then it will thrive beyond the burst...
Bitcoin may bear, so to speak, the brunt of a correction, as it has the highest visibility. A coin that has less visibility and more utility may be safer because it can reposition itself as a part of an Dapp platform and not just a currency.
Voted and followed, my friend!

Taking profits is better than taking losses!

Helps me sleep better at night. Seems a little bubbly, but I am too pessimistic..

I hope the bull market slows down. loving the profits but it is only matter time before it DUMPs to a nice correction then another bull run is ok.

Yeah, even though my position in cryptos was super small, I'm getting the same dopamine hit watching it shatter my best ever investments (percentage wise) in stocks. It's quite fun winning, even if the money isn't huge.

Thanks i have now better knowledge i just upvoted you scotty 777

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79