You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bitcoin... is it really worth, what it's currently worth right now?

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

I think the true value of Bitcoin is the change it brought about in the minds of people. More people became aware of fiat being the biggest scam out there and are now leaning towards crypto. I am not sure if we will buy coffee with Bitcoin in future but I think as a store of value, it might not be a bad investment. Who knows :)

Sort:  

Yes, it definitely is the flag bearer, and has open the doorway into cryptocurrency for so many, but to carry it just for the sake of carrying it is getting a bit old.

Lightning is the only trick they have left, and it's like training wheels for Bitcoin, because it isn't even built into the protocol. Plus, unless they make it Joe and Jane friendly, it is never going to get adopted.

There are hundreds of developers working on bitcoin. It too will evolve. There are specific purpose coins that will function well in their niche. But BTC will not dissapear any time soon and it will still be widely held.

true dat! I am in my gangsta mood today, hence the peculiar language ;D
xx Lucy

Ha ha, I see that Lucy, and you're free to make it a whatever kind of day you chose, this place is decentralized after all.

Shoot first, ask questions later.

I think it being first will always have value as well, just like the first original art pieces in the world have the most value, imagine if only a few Bitcoins are left in the world years from now, they will most likely be extremely valuable to collectors.

Interesting, I never thought of that angle.
Numismatic value Bitcoin…

Yep, you always gotta think like a rich snob to get all angles.

“The amount of Bitcoin actually in circulation is far lower than the amount of Bitcoin in existence, due to accidental loss or willful destruction.
Of the 16 and a half million Bitcoin that have been mined so far, it is estimated that up to 25% have been lost for good.”

Do you have any Grey Poupon?

Ha ha, no I do not, and I've heard a similar estimate, and it will only take another 25 years to see that number go up exponentially.

I hear you :) However as you said to appone the scarcity of Bitcoin over time will be a valuable thing which I think many have bought into :)
PS - Did you hear that Binance is moving to my neighbourhood ;)
All too exciting
xx Lucy

Ha ha, you live in Malta, that's hilarious, and it's a smart move on Binance's part too!

Very well said. Most of the people today just know Bitcoin. By most I mean those who do not know anything about cryptos yet. Bitcoin has definitely shown the world that currency can be decentralized. Laid the foundation stone of a new empire.

:) I agree.
Sometimes the value of something lies in the underlying idea that brings about the revolution!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61702.75
ETH 2485.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65