[dtube] Does the Name of a Cryptocurrency Matter?

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)


In this video, I'll be discussing the significance of the name and brand of a cryptocurrency and how it might impact their prospects for success. Special reference to SingularDTV.

DISCLAIMER: This is NOT financial advice. I am just offering my opinions. I am not responsible for any investment decisions that you choose to make.

***I am in the process of adding many of my videos from YouTube on to DTube. Apologies for any posts that you've already seen before!

Original date of upload: September 22nd, 2017


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

IMO naming is absolutely critical: it's like 101 in marketing :-)

Of course it matters, the name is an important part of the image of a cryptocurrency and this affects considerably in a speculative and volatile market as this.

The name itself could define whether a cryptocurrency will succeed or fail.

Great analysis , love your videos
A name does matter, it attracts more and more people just like Netflix, Facebook and all the others you mentioned..
Thank you for this

Value matters more than the name :)

For future viewers: price of bitcoin at the moment of posting is 8189.80USD

@ipostbtcprice has posted comments like this at least 5,782 times in the last 7 days which is damaging bandwidth for new minnows

@louisthomas please consider removing your upvote as I will soon ask the community to consider removing the rewards on these excessive comments. If you truly want your upvote to remain please reply and I hereby ask the community to respect your wishes.

Upvote this comment to support @duplibot and help reduce excessive comments

@ipostbtcprice has posted comments like this at least 5,782 times in the last 7 days which is damaging bandwidth for new minnows

@louisthomas please consider removing your upvote as I will soon ask the community to consider removing the rewards on these excessive comments. If you truly want your upvote to remain please reply and I hereby ask the community to respect your wishes.

Upvote this comment to support @duplibot and help reduce excessive comments

Yes it's matters but we got funny name of "Dogecoin" and we got a lot of old memes with a "doge" so in like 2015-2017 dogecoin was so popular, but nowadays as meme get olds dogecoin is getting weaker and weaker. Also "Ripple" is so catchy

I always consider the name before investing really.

I love Neo, though I admit it initially held me back since I related it with a matrix fanboy kind of project, but going beyond that: it is an easy, simple and catchy name. Neo as in the meaning of new, does have significant relevance and I can really see a name like that becoming mainstream.

Steem has a very strong brand name, Iota is certainly one of the best, monero is easily relatable as slang for (digital) money which helps it's popularity.

Litecoin is ok, though it's name kinda always places it as Bitcoin's little brother.

Verge is not bad, potential to be a strong name but no clear relatability to me, like monero.

EOS, meh.. kinda reminds of apple and not a bad name for an OS but not so great for a currency.

NEM, not great.. though I like the New Economy Movement it stands for, the logo always seemed kinda boring to me.

Lisk, never liked the name, I had high hopes for the rebranding but they kept the name, logo is ok but not spectacular.

Cardano, too many sylables, too.. Italian, maybe? trading under ADA, also not doing it for me. With nothing to really show for I can easily see this become a forgotten coin.

I'd say that it does. Some of the alts have very, very cringy names. Perception is reality:

m1_WOp6_Su_Nyu_Q0142v_ZJLGqv_Nw0_Soytgoi3_Lnj6u_Ydz_M

Source: 1

The name of a crypto doesn't really matter that much, what matters is the project but a really really cool name can be a tool for success with PR.

Thanks for that info on this crazy world of crypto .. cheers buddy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67538.43
ETH 3518.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81