[dtube] How Many Different Cryptocurrencies Should You Invest In?

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)


Is there an ideal number of cryptocurrencies that you should own? Should you pick a handful of well-researched projects, or try the scattergun approach and invest small amounts into many different coins?

DISCLAIMER: This is NOT financial advice. I am just offering my opinions. I am not responsible for any investment decisions that you choose to make.

***I am in the process of adding many of my videos from YouTube on to DTube. Apologies for any posts that you've already seen before!

Original date of upload: November 6th, 2017


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I found that (from my own experience) I lost track after I have invested in more than 10...

This is so true, with more than 10 it's pretty hard on keep an eye on all of them or even make the right decisions during fluctuations.

Every time there is something new that revolutionizes the way people see the world, there is going to be some backlash. I don't remember what the name of the person was, but there's a story that the person who created the device that allows people to communicate over radio frequencies was told to go to a mental asylum by his friends because they didn't believe it was possible. There will alwyas be backlash until the revolution is seen as "normal" and accepted by others. Crypto won't really be accepted as "normal", in my opinion, until big corporations and companies accept it. But then again, crypto is disrupting their playing field. So it may be difficult for that to happen since they have so much power.

got around 20 different alts and still want more,, there is too many interessing project thomas

My maximum number of cryptocurrencies for holding are 5 including btc. They must be projects that I have already studied in detail and I risk with one with little market cap but it's my small investment because it could be a shitcoin

I think you should own certainly some of the heavy guns...BTC ETH and LTC
And the buy some cheap aswell.One of them could explode and return major profits

Please bro can you help me with Upvote I wanna to buy a ticket for NY am student ❤️ @louisthomas

You have to be confident with anything you invest in. Yes, you can invest in bitcoin alone. If anything is going to stay here bitcoin it is. Ontopif it we all steemiens are owners of Steem as well.lol

You should have at least 40% in btc to have money to invest in projects that show promise and you should move the rest around low to mid market cap promising projects to try and reap the gains of any bull moves that happen or you could play it safe and not leave the top 10 or top 20.

Of course you have the be diversified. I’m invested a bit in stock market, of course anti inflammatory good and silver and I think you should hold at least three or four cryptos you belive in. But that’s just me.

Hiya @louisthomas hows things mate?

Well this is always a popular question, one with no real answer I believe. It really does come down to individuality. I personally have 17 crypto's at the mo, I sold a few recently and put the money into making some of my other positions bigger which turned out excellent and at the exact right time. I dont know if it was beginners luck or all the daily learning finally paying off.

I just made a post earlier about combining crypto, blockchain, sustainability, green energy and permaculture. Can you take a look at it buddy? If you could give it an upvote or even a re steem that would be friggin awesome.

Many thanks and keep the good work up mate :)

Have a total of 27 different cryptos. But majority of my portfolio is covered by 6 different coins.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83