You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Update: Poloniex will not assist you in case you loose your Bitcoin by Hardfork

I'm a bit of a newbie to this whole thing, but: we have our Steem stored on a third party platform, and not in a wallet.

There have been multiple times when I could not open Steemit.com in my browser. What happens to our Steem if the website somehow crashes or is shut down? It's all great that the content is in a blockchain, but how do we access our Steem then?

Sort:  

The way I understand it is this...Steem is a crypto currency and is not mined or stored in reserve on Steemit.com. if Steemit goes down, we should still have access to our wallet. I'm new as well so faith is the best answer at this point. There is inherent risk involved

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60535.47
ETH 2656.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46