Airswap had a large sell off on Binance. Price manipulation gone wrong or bots being bots?

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

As you can see in the chart, there was clearly a big dump of price in the highlighted area. These are generally caused by a big dump of coins or trading bots making poor trades. Big dumps come from whales and some bad whales often try to manipulate the market by a large dump or pump hoping to gain profit.

But that's a zero sum game.

You either win or lose. Often price manipulators lose money in this game. The other thing that comes to mind which could have caused this would be bots. Trading bots are programmed to sell or buy whenever x condition is met. For example, if price of x coin goes down 10% sell x number of coins. These bots are generally profitable but when a big dump or pump comes, they fail badly. They are generally made with the assumption that market will stay stable with somewhat volatility but unpredictable price movements can make the bot operators lose a lot of money.

There information are generally well known by crypto vets but I hope this will be beneficial for the newbies. Another good discussion about bots on r/cryptocurrency

Sort:  

Hey I just heard about you and your discord server. Are you going to let it die?
Let me know what's going on I joined your server today?

If you are referring to SM, it's going to make a come back I am sure.

There is some Discord python work that needs to be done. I've tried to wrap my mind around it a couple times but need to try it again. The reactions were behaving kind of wonky.

I hope so. We need all the people we can muster to fight the good fight@steemit. Thanks for letting me know. I wondered since I saw your bot there and you as admin. I sent@enforcer48 an invite and he said

HUH!

Wololo!

(This comment has received a upvotes with a @randohealer random bonus to counter Steemit Defence Doofus League Downvotes! Link to the article about why I am doing this for others. Thanks for the support, @iamstan!)

it does look like something went wrong

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63239.86
ETH 2621.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77