5 Tips For Smarter Investments

in #cryptocurrency4 years ago (edited)

l30912.jpg

Genesis

Getting into crypto was overwhelming at best, especially with no introduction. Not knowing any better, my crypto was "safely" stored on Bittrex - ignorance sure is bliss.

All these tickers! What to buy? EVERYTHING! Ladies and gentlemen, I bought everything. Getting rekt like nobody's business. If anyone on twitter or telegram said it'd moon soon, I bought it. Needless to say, this intensified the sadness of my "portfolio" to the point where I decided to cut my loses and abandon ship.

More REKT

I got back into crypto just in time for the bull run, I kid you not, the only gains I had were on Ethereum. Otherwise, I was still getting rekt on nearly every other trade I made.

Time to face the harsh reality, I was no good at trading. I started using a mobile wallet to keep my funds out of exchanges. it wasn't long until the hype had me sending tokens back and forth from my wallet to exchanges and straight up burning my money with bad decisions based on rumours and hype. The convenience of mobile wallets became my downfall.

The Rebranding

My best investment to date is the Ledger Nano S, it guaranteed me no access to my funds if I didn't keep the Ledger with me all day, activate forced HODL mode. I have since mastered the art of HODLing.

5 Tips for smart investments

Research is key if you're investing in cryptocurrencies, said with that, here's 5 tips I've gained from the experience:

• Never buy a token without doing proper research, that includes reading the whitepaper. Meh. I know.

• If it's already over 50% up in the past 24 hours, don't touch it with a 10 foot pole. Monitor it for a few days - NO FOMO!

• Browse through the "recently listed" tabs on coinmarketcap and coingecko at least once a week and try to find gems and hold on to them, I've found only checking on coingecko to be sufficient - this is a slow process but it can really rewarding.

• Don't let your portfolio bother you - stop checking its value every few minutes! Go about your day.

DIVERSIFY! Going All in could potentially yield mindblowing gains, it can also grant you a first class ticket to destination rekt. Besides, there are too many great projects around to be stuck on one.

These are from my personal experience. You're probably going to learn your own if you haven't already, hopefully these 5 tips will narrow your risk a bit.

Share your tips with me in the comments! 👇👇👇

image source Miguel A. Padrinan
Sort:  

Great tips, made every single one of those mistakes and learned similar lessons. Trying to make yourself rich quickly without experience is recipe for disaster 😂

Trying to make yourself rich quickly without experience is recipe for disaster

This 👌 haha

Yes I agree. From what i understand the worst is people losing their homes as a result of poor decision making in crypto.

Very good information

Which one is your favorite tip?

Congratulations @lieutenantrekt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Notifications have been disabled. Sorry if I bothered you.
To reactivate notifications, drop me a comment with the word NOTIFY

Yay!
Your post has been boosted with ESTM. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

If it's already over 50% up in the past 24 hours, don't touch it with a 10 foot pole. Monitor it for a few days - NO FOMO!

This a important to note
Your can sgare your post on the below platform get more readers, views and earnings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.86
ETH 3531.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53