How much Crypto would you trust in a hot wallet / App wallet?

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

We all read that hot wallets and app wallets are suitable for only small amounts of cryptocurrency or amounts you are willing to lose.

Having done a heap of research, I'm particularly impressed with some of the app wallets out there and wondering just how much is too much for a hot wallet? I've got my iOS device with me all the time. I'm particularly carful with it. Its not jailbroken, it has both pin and fingerprint security on it and I don't download junk apps.  Assuming I don't lose my phone, what are my chances of losing funds when I use an app wallet that does not store private keys on servers.

How much do you trust you app wallet?

Which one do you use?

Would you trust your :

  • $USD100 ?
  • $USD1,000?
  • $USD10,000? 
  • $USD100K??

Can a hot wallet become a cold wallet?

If I were to download something like BreadWallet, Jaxx or Mycellium... take note of my secret passphrase, transfer some funds in and then delete the app altogheter from my iPhone.. would this be considered a form of cold storage? 

Then when its time to cash out or spend, we re-download the app and use the pass phrase (which would be securely stored in a safe or somewhere written down) to access our funds again.

Thoughts?


Sort:  

Any thoughts about this ?

Congratulations @li21! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58430.35
ETH 2623.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42