Day 4: Journal of a Crypto newbie

The last two days have been hectic causing me not to be able to get to write my journal entries, so I'll try to catch up now. :) During the massive dip we saw on Monday I drastically re-designed my holdings. I decided I was far to diversified and wanted to concentrate into only 5 coins. I figured, even though I was selling all of my coins at a loss, it's not a realized loss until I move money back into fiat. Armed with that logic - I re-distributed into ETH (34%), BTC (17%), NEO (43%), BNB (6%) and MED (1%). Thoughts on each below:

ETH - I see this as the most stable of the major currencies. While we are in the growth phase of this market, I am assuming that this coin will not only see excellent growth, while keeping one of the lowest risk profiles in the crypto-market. Long term hold until market matures.

BTC - Bought this at $5,000. I am confident this will rebound this year back to 12-14k sometime this year... making this a no-brain 2x bet. Others will see more growth, but a virtual lock for 2x is too hard to pass up. Mid term (max 1 yr) hold

NEO - Love this one. This one is like ETH in how I valued it + has the added bonus of GAS dividends, which is actually pretty good (estimated ~ .05 GAS for every NEO a month. and with GAS trading at about 1/3rd of NEO that about a 2% return a month.... not too bad.

BNB - I trade on Binance, so this is a bit of a no-brainer. halving the trading fees is nice, but I like the fact that all fees are paid in BNB, meaning I don't need to worry about orphaning partial coins anymore. I want to keep this at 10-20% of my portfolio to be used in trading. Any gains in price (bought at $6) are just a bonus.

MED - This is the throw in Altcoin. This is the only coin I own on Gate.io and was a recommendation from my brother-in-law. I have 240 of these, and will hold for a while. I keep this one around only as insurance so I don't have to hear him say "I told you so....". :) Only 1% of total portfolio, so it's insurance I can afford. ;)

Anyway, would love to hear opinions on my thoughts here.... especially if I am dead wrong on anything. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54260.52
ETH 2284.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30