Full Stop

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

I had been collecting my STEEM through the long process of powering-down, converting it to BTC, and storing it in my wallet. Additionally, I had spent some BTC on some contracts with hashflare.io to turn a profit by cloud mining ETH (the contracts were net-positive when I bought them, then turned very dubious until the recent upswing in the cryptocurrency markets). Lastly, I had cashed out some BTC into fiat currency to allow me to dabble in the stock market.

All was well, and moderately good.

Until I received a text from my wife stating we had "no f*ing money".

That triggered a financial fight-or-flight response, and I proceeded to liquidate everything I could into fiat (I had already cashed out half of my BTC holdings, just to capitalize on the recent (at the time) upswing in the market and not lose out on those profits), in the expectation that that money would be needed to provide for the family.

Unfortunately, my actions were completely unwarranted, as the family was not in such dire straits (not to mention there is a small nest egg of "family" stocks that could be accessed in a true emergency). I suppose it was the "provider" instinct in me that responded to the text, and the belief that I should do whatever I had to for the family.

So, now I am sitting on a small bundle of fiat, while I watch the BTC markets completely exceed any reasonable predictions (sold in the $9.700-range).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 60836.70
ETH 3352.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50