You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Taking Crypto Security More Seriously, Recently Moved Most of my Coins Off Exchanges

Good post. I'm going to have to chew on some of this stuff. I don't currently have a cold wallet. My stuff is sitting on exchanges like you're referencing. About two weeks ago bittrex was having some issues and people couldn't log on for a day. I was convinced a hack had taken place and that I had lost everything. Thankfully that didn't happen, but it really made me think about the need for a proper wallet. I'm still really really new to all this stuff, though. Didn't know there were tier 1 or tier 2 exchanges. I'm on binance, but just got accepted on bittrex and think I will move my stuff there.

Thanks again!

Sort:  

Did Bittrex openback up registrations?

I personally think of Bittrex and Binance as being top end exchanges where as personally I wouldn't trust a cryptopia, HitBTC, Yobit, etc nearly as much as Binance and Bittrex.

If you plan on being involved in crypto for the longterm, and or plan on putting significant amounts of money on I'd buy a Trezor. Ledger holds more coins and is a little cheaper but Trezor seems to be more userfriendly. They hold a good assortment of coins plus all ERC20 tokens as well.

If you have NEO or NAV those are two very user friendly wallets as well.

Bittrex has not opened up registrations yet, but I wrote to their support asking them to let me open an account and they did :)

Yeah, I think I'll need to invest in Trezor soon.

That's awesome never hurts to ask. Back when everyone was waiting to get on Amazon Merch a few people took it upon themselves just to email support and asked and many people got on so awesome taking the initiative htere.

Yeah definitely recommend a Trezor, if you have any questions when you get yours hit me up, I had mine setup in about 5 minutes, very easy to use

Thanks so much for the offer. Might take you up on that. Seems quite scary at the moment to offload crypto into a device for some reason, but I do understand that it's the safest step.

Yo, have a great Tuesday!

I would say just for fun if you havn't done it yet setup an Electrum wallet. It's not quite the same as Trezor but you'll get experience with writing down a seed phrase, then delete the wallet and try to recover it. Just do that to get comfortable. Once you get your Trezor there's a bunch of step by step youtube videos that will walk you through the process but I'd be happy to help if you have any questions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63619.61
ETH 2698.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59