Serious Bug with the Waves Beta Web Dex / Wallet

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

UPDATE: I'm not trying to create FUD or discredit Waves. I think Waves is a great product, which is why I have $10,000+ worth of assets in their client. I'm just worried others will encounter this issue and lose money.

I'm very concerned about this. I was just attempting to purchase WGR/BTC and I ended up with WGO/BTC.

I went to place my order of WGR/BTC, the Market Buy button displayed the going rate of 0.00003400 BTC. You can see in the image below that there were many orders of WGR/BTC for that price at the time I placed my order.

I clicked the Market Buy button, indicating that I wanted to purchase at the Market price. I then clicked my available BTC balance (roughly .25 BTC), indicating I wanted to use my full BTC balance to purchase WGR/BTC at the Market price of 0.00003400 BTC.

The Waves Dex then displayed I could purchase roughly 7326 WGR/BTC after fees and such. I then clicked “Place Market Order”. And to my surprise, I ended up with 7326 WGO/BTC, instead of WGR/BTC. How could this happen??

All I did was click the Market Buy button, then clicked my BTC available and Place Buy Order. 3 clicks in that order. I didn't type anything in...

I know this may seem like user error, but I promise you it is not. Please take a look at my transaction for WGO/BTC, it says I placed a buy order for 0.00003400 BTC. At the exact time WGR/BTC was filling orders at 0.00003400 BTC. For the exact amount of WGR/BTC I could have purchased with my full available BTC balance 7326 units.

Even if I was somehow on the WGO/BTC ticker page, why would the Waves Dex suggest a market buy of 0.000034 BTC??

Why in the world would I place a buy order for almost double what WGO/BTC was going for and it happens to match up perfectly with the WGR/BTC I was trying to purchase.

Remember, I didn’t type anything in, I just clicked the three buttons shown to me mentioned above.

I contacted Waves support with this information and this is the response I received:

Hello.

We conducted an investigation into your situation and found out that you never had an order in Wagerr/BTC pair of, but >there was an order in the WGO/BTC pair. This order was filled and you received the funds.
Unfortunately, now we cannot tell you what was the reason for your mistake.
However, we have not had such problems so far. Therefore, you probably installed the order by mistake.

You can sell these tokens and buy others.

Obviously, I didn’t have a WGR/BTC order placed, I can see the transactions. But obviously, there’s some issue with the UI sending incorrect data to the blockchain performing these transactions…

I can’t think of any way I could have accidentally did this and the numbers in the transaction match up perfectly with the WGR/BTC order I was trying to place. Waves can see the timestamp and numbers in the transaction data, how can they not see that something doesn’t seem right..

So, this is a word of caution for everyone using the new Waves Web Dex. I lost about $1000, but I also eat up a huge chunk of the WGO/BTC sell orders, screwing up the spread on that market.

I’m sure there are investors moving around a lot bigger dollar amounts than me and a bug like this could really fuck things up.

My hope is Waves will see this and look deeper into this bug, I also hope they'll send me the 7326 WRG/BTC I missed out on purchasing at a great price...

WAVES - 3PKbVRPDTUGKP75f7sPNauKpqBS392KxGic
LTC - LN3BHxtyq3Nor3vpwem3z1WtzLor9fCHqT
DASH - XyXnJ3io96DtxEYGHiicd9ERfG1i387BDt
BTC - 1Ga3UNGza9C7jAhGBtsAhDmPKju24JoRd4

Sort:  

User error, and lame attempt to discredit a program in BETA ....he didn't even contacted support.
I have been a Tester for waves since 2016 and never encountered this.
Nor the entire waves community ever had this issue.

Did you not read the post? I stated I contacted support and what their response was.

I'm not even trying to discredit them, did I say I'm selling off all my assets and moving to another exchange?

I'm simply trying to document the issue in a public outlet, so if others have the same problem they can chime in as well.

And their website doesn't say the Online Client is in beta anymore...

Congratulations @lamario! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @lamario! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @lamario! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59