Crypto Epiphany - Why am I doing this?

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

I just had a real life changing emotion shift recently which was caused by cryptos. It was pretty awesome! So I wanted to write an update on my 1.5 year mark of being involved in cryptos and what it has done for me personally. I also want to hear about what it has done for other people! Maybe some of you may feel the same...

(Oh hi its me)
16997832_10158189630660231_5375487509816682276_n.jpg

I have a few past posts about this but very quickly my backstory with all this is that I got involved in early 2016. I learned about Bitcoin and right away I bought some... out of an ATM actually! The service cost was a joke! haha but at least I know that now...

That day though I remember being over the moon about it. I had that feeling of finding something special and I felt unstoppable. The things I read about it then and understood was that it was a decentralized money and I was elated. I have always lived my life trying to "stick it to the man!" and this just seemed like the way to do it!

over-the-moon-logo-01.jpg

After holding Bitcoin for a while I then didn't know what else I could do to be involved. I am not a programmer and trading freaked me out a bit. I also had very little Bitcoin, a whole .5 but it made me so happy and I didn't want to lose it. My mind set at the time was very low risk...I just wanted to hold onto the things I had and felt crippled when it came to risk taking. So I just waited.

(opposite of me)
risk-norman.jpg

I am not someone with a lot of money. I chase the dream of making art over having fancy things, but in living that life there is still limitations. I may be creating art and pursuing my dream as a photographer, artist and freelancer which does makes me happy however still causes limitations. I wanted to become a freelancer so I could be outside of the 9-5 grind, I wanted to be free. Free for me was more important then making a lot of money and accumulating things. But your still stuck and still worried about where next months rent is coming from and there is nothing about that that feels like freedom!

freedom_quote_3.jpg
(the dream)

I did see freedom in the crypto world though, people creating new projects and making money over night. The part I liked the most was watching people contribute something that can change peoples lives. Finding Steemit was awesome, it was the first time I felt like I had the opportunity to be involved without spending money, and the best thing, if I gave value I would make money! This was my first win in cryptos when I had one post take off last summer. This facilitated me to begin to learn to trade and try and grow my coins, I was not good at it to say the least. I decided I was more of a long term hold kind of person. I waited a long time before investing anything I had into anything other then Bitcoin and the bit of Steem I had. After waiting and watching again for quite a while I finally decided to take the leap and invest in a coin called zclassic back at the beginning of May. This coin was also going to split into another coin (ZEN) so I would then have two and I thought maybe here was my opportunity after watching for so long. I am grateful because this move really worked out for me. I all of a sudden got this amazing feeling of like "leveling up". But it changed my perspective... I could see the huge potential in cryptos, but never actually felt it, this was my first decent investment win. It took me 1.5 years.

I39m-WAITING-meme-24587.jpg

Now though I have been asking myself why I am doing this? What am I doing? What could I do? And initially my answer was, "well, make money". But now that I made a little I don't want it for the things I thought. I want to be free of the stress of bills... sure... but really I want freedom and flexibility. I want to have the time and ability to continue to be a part of this movement and development of better systems. I want to do better financially in this world so I have the time to be more involved in it and to contribute. This epiphany brought me more from an 'I' perspective to a 'WE'.

Dame.jpg

I still am not fully sure what I want to do next, this is just a new emotional space to be in. I am excited but kind of unsure. I just know I want to and will be using my time differently now and that is such a thrilling thought. I also want to know if anyone else feels like this? I know everyone is motivated by different things but what is yours?

I hope this doesn't feel too mushy gushy feelings talk but I had to! Feelings talk me people! I want to hear. And let me know what your journey is like too.

download.jpeg

If you got this far, thank your for taking the time to read my story!

xoxo, @kristylynn

Sort:  

The beginning of your story describes where I'm at currently. I started off with.1 BTC a couple months ago, and I just found out about steem this week. In fact this is my first comment, your post is very inspiring!

So glad your joining steemit! Thanks for taking the time to read my post I am glad it helped you. I look forward to reading yours! @fitnessquest

Great post! The freedom and flexibility is what's important to me

Thanks! Right?! Same.

What an excellent post again!

This is a really great post. I absolutely agree that bitcoins kind of feel like freedom. I first got into bitcoins in 2010, but I was too young to take it seriously and bought a video card (gtx 260) to play the new Call of Duty for PC. I then got back in to mine bitcoins in 2012 when they first exploded to $200. I bought mining rigs and mined for an year and a half. When prices crashed i sold my bitcoins and went traveling the world with the bitcoin earnings. My biggest mistake was that I kept quitting and not having full faith in bitcoins. The goal is to never give up on your passions and go through the emotional rollercoaster. Im glad you found a passion and havent given up! I look forwars to seeing your future posts.

Still sounds like you got some amazing opportunities as well because of it! I totally get you though. It's easy to look back but believing in something and looking forward is so different hey?! Thanks for taking the time to comment :)

Youre 100% right. Looking back is a lot easier than staying level headed. There are definitely a lot of opportunities that came out if it career wise. As a result of mentioning bitcoins at an interview I got a job at a top bank and then recently quit to start my own software company. Honestly, thr most inportsnt thing is to not regret the decisions youve made. Also keep it up and I believe in you.

it is the block chain era, we are at the beginning , and it is the time to feel good as all people earn a lot of money out there ;)

Glad to hear you got the zcl/zen split! Now just need to hold out until the roll out the secure nodes in a few months. Looking forward to trying out the secure messaging too! Interesting backstory - I think women are much better at holding crypto or any investment for that matter (long term).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60024.78
ETH 2351.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47