Tutorial to Mod Bios on AMD GPU for ETH and XMR Mining

in #cryptocurrency8 years ago

Yesterday i wrote that currently ETH is the best coin to mine according to current calculators.

Today i want to teach you how to make more of your AMD cards while mining this and XMR coin (also listed high in the ratings).

Keep in mind, flashing and modding bios may void your warranty. You are doing it on your own risk and behalf.

I only give technical information on how to do it properly on Windows.

Download AtiWinflash


Now choose card (if you have few) and click save to save current bios.

Download PolarisBiosEditor

Open your saved BIOS and go to the right/bottom column.

Copy stuff from 1750 to last 2000, then save as new file.

Open AtiWinflash

Load your new Bios and click Program. Wait a bit, computer will restart.

Check if the card works


If you go to Computer->System->Hardware and there is no exclamation mark - means you are set.

Troubleshooting

  1. Do not use newest drivers, go for win7-64bit-radeon-software-crimson-relive-16.12.2-jan3.exe or even before.
  2. Sometimes AniWinFlash may freeze the computer - dont worry just restart and do it again.
  3. If card is not working, Program old bios back and try with different drivers.
  4. If you hav many cards of same type you can use same bios but test one by one.
  5. Dont want ETH or XMR but BTC? Mine directly using http://hashnice.com pool

Follow and VOTE UP @kingscrown the creator of http://fuk.io blog for 0day cryptocurrency news and tips!

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Feb 04. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $12.02 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 04 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

What is the change in this BIOS?

Copy stuff from 1750 to last 2000, then save as new file. [point about Polaris]

Yea I get it, but what is the advantage? I am using Nicehash on my 390X because my power is included in my rent and I have a gaming rig. For the most part I point it at other people to get them into Bitcoin. But my question is what it the advantage of this BIOS and what is it doing to get that advantage.

more hashes on ETH and XMR with same electricity usage

Right now my card is mining zcash but it normally picks ETH. Next time ETH is the most profitable I will install this BIOS and check it out.. TY for the tip.

No problem :) Enjoy!

THIS VOIDS WARRANTIES
but yeah you will mine faster

LOL warranties... Talk to Samsung about the GS7, and go Get fuckt with your stupid comment. If I can not mod something I paid top dollar for That company needs to get fukt also.

While I completely agree about my right to repair, there needs to be limits on what manufacturers have to cover. There is a reason BIOS modding voids warNtees. but i agree get rekt companies

The manufacture needs to cover everything they fuckedup... I am not going to respond to you anymore. You are a shill or a bot and you are not worth my time..

absolutely. I'm no shill or bot lmao, just saying there are reasons for warrantee terms. trust me I want to kick Samsung Knox so hard, let me do whatever I want in software.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58664.80
ETH 2569.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42