You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Blockchain, the forking frontier.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Great read, regarding btc fork , I'm always trying to do the opposite of what the masses are doing.
I hear that a soft fork for steem is fast approaching ? Do you know anything about it ?

Sort:  

Glad you like it!

Yes, the Bitcoin split actually went quite smooth and it seems Bitcoin Cash is here to stay.

It will be a new kind of Steem, with a Bitcoin like split, under a different name, with quite some drastic changes, as far I have read. It is a huge undertaking and I am still quite sceptical about it. But stranger things have happened.

At some point one or more Steem forks will happen, I guess, but I seriously doubt it if the current plan for this can succeed to be the first.

Oh sounds scary , I didn't know it will be such a big change.

It is, as far as I see it, a big idea, mainly a one person project.

Steem is way ahead and that will be just the same. Soon Steem will have improvements. New additions.

What I learned from my falling into the FUD trap concerning the Bitcoin blockchain split is that it made BTC move through the 3000 US Dollar ceiling. And both blockchains move forward on their own unique path.

And concerning Steem, just look at how Golos can co-excist besides it. As far as I can see the Steem blockchain split is mainly a one person initiated big idea. There are lots of resources needed to pull a fork of this magnitude off. Just forking some sourcode at Github alone wont do it... (That is actually the easy part.)

It is perfecly okay to have forks in the Free and Open Source realm I tried to address in my post. It works in many aspect as a free market. Anybody can enter, but not all will succeed in making it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66646.40
ETH 3314.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69