Review of Cryptokittens

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20160104_223849.jpg


It's a pretty neat idea

It's not as good as the real thing, however, people are selling their cryptokittens for a lot up on cryptokitties.co/

I got a gen 9 kitten and a gen 4 kitten for around .30 ether. I'm not sure if it was worth it, but I guess I'll see what my new sired kitten will look like.

Screen Shot 2017-12-04 at 6.51.28 PM.png

Here, I made a mistake of siring two kittens with different generations. The baby kitten will probably be a generation 10 cat. The lower the generation, the rarer the cat; they are low supply, high demand. Only time will tell how many people get hooked into this game. We pay about .015 ethers or more to have them sire (mate) with one another. Fortunately, there is no cross-breeding between the cryptokitten family.

We cannot feed the cats, they are just collectibles.

I will probably not spend any more ethers for more cryptokittens.

It was a nice experiment. It's enjoyable to see how ethereum (or the blockchain space in general) operates.

I am excited to see how my cryptokitten offspring will come out :). Similarly to steem, this is how the value inflates. Only with cryptokittens, traits and generation partake in the value. Awesome creation. I would not advise cryptokittens as an investment.

We do all know that Vitalik loves cats. Great concept for a great man!


22.jpeg

Follow me @kevbot for my life journey, this channel is meant to be my journal of thoughts on crypto, working, and life:)


22.jpeg

Sort:  

I didn't know that people purchase and sell kittens through crytocurrency like Ether. Thanks for making us aware of it @kevbot.

Wow! @kevbot, excellent post and Great publishing work, I like it. Thanks for sharing this lovely post.

nice information my friend, honestly i don't know about cryptokittens but after reading your post i able to get some knowledge about crypto kitties, thanks for sharing some nice information with us, Stay awesome

A cat gives birth to four children

So people are flipping these kittens for profit?

Hi I have purchased three kitties, I made a point of limiting my budget to £40 worth of Ether. Here is a bit about what I have learnt...
Firstly be warned it took me numerous tries to purchase a kitty I think because the ap is slow, buggy and there are alot of people as well as 'bots' purchasing these kitties. I had read that the younger the generation the better also the speed of the cat (processing and resting time after 'siring') and to look at the kitties 'Cattibutes' these are a list of attributes each kitty has and some are rarer qualities than others. If you want to check how rare the qualities are check out- https://cryptokittydex.com/cattributes.
I 'sired' (mated) two of my virtual cats and another one was born, but each transaction you are charged which can all add up, you need to also keep an eye on how much 'gas' you use with each transaction the more gas the faster the transaction. So if you are buying and possibly competing with other buyers you might want to spend more on gas to rush the sale through but if you are 'siring' and not in a rush you may want to alter the amount of gas it just means the transaction or birth of your new baby kitty may take longer. To check 'gas' rates go to -https://ethgasstation.info/ I didn't realise this when I purchased my first two but by the third I realised you can change the gas rates. So I now have a G3,G4,G5 and G11 kitties, I don't think I will 'sire' any more as you pay for the privilege and it does eventually have an effect on your kitties speed which will ultimately make it less desirable. You may start off with a 'swift' cat but if you 'sire' over and over the speed of your kitty will slow down to 'plodding' or even 'catatonic'. I am just going to hold and see what happens for now, hope this info helps someone else.

THanks for that. I also realized that siring is not so profitable, and eventually doesn't promises that someone will pay you.
What is your input on breeding and selling? In other words, what's another quicker way monetize on cryptokitties besides holding them?

Hi sorry for the delay, I am also new on Steemit and haven't signed in for two months! So sorry, I haven't been trading them, I am just going to hold on to them and see what happens.

I just bought some kitties as well, got two of gen 3 and about to see what comes out of them. Thanks for your tip on cros gen breeding, I did learn on your mistake so you've done someone a favour.
Would like to see more updates from you on this.

My update is I am just holding on to them, I have named them of course which is completely irrelevant but important to me. i just sign in every now and again see that some of the most expensive kitties are up for sale from 10-100,000 eth feel reassured the site is still up and leave again. I have no idea if they will ever grow in value but for the small investment I made I thought it was worth a shot. Have you named your kitties? What special attributes do they have?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60929.80
ETH 2371.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49