A Hollywood Insider’s View on New ICO: Stream Space

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

logo.png
I remember getting my SAG-AFTRA card for the first time. I remember looking at it closely and laughing at myself knowing I had just become an official “one of them.” Yes, I am not a fan of unions. But, I am proud knowing that a select few in the business are moving leaps and bounds for the industry while putting their careers on the line.

I know Hollywood is imploding from within. Forget the socio-political diatribes heard during award season every year. I am talking about the disruption of the industry that is so desperately needed.

For about ten years I have worked in Hollywood in some form or fashion. I see more fraud, waste, and abuse there then I have seen while serving in the military—well, its pretty damn close.

I see more people kissing the asses of Directors and Producers then I ever saw people kissing the ass of a commander—all for promotion.

I know about the stacks upon stacks of treatments and screenplays collecting dust on the desks of the major industry management agencies.

I know about unprecedented amounts of intellectual property theft which occurs almost daily within Hollywood.

And, I know about the lackadaisical security issues within to safeguard not only television and movie items which includes scripts and even finalized products but also individual’s personal information. Remember the Sony hack a few years ago? Yeah, I may or may not have some personal knowledge about that crisis.

Back in 2013, George Lucas along with Steven Spielberg said something on the lines of, “an implosion in the film industry is inevitable.”

As one who works in Hollywood, I agree with Lucas and Spielberg—Hollywood is imploding.

Technology has made life much easier for independent filmmakers to get their feet in the game.

DSLR Cameras are shooting low light and 4k and they are no longer expensive for the average Jane or Joe to buy. Hell, cell phones are shooting low light and at 4k today and yes, some movies have been made shooting with the iPhone.

Editing software can be purchased under subscriptions for a monthly fee and yes, even your cell phones can load apps for editing software hence you can edit things you shoot right there on your own phone.

Want to write a script? Simply use Word Docs or spend a few hundred bucks and purchase script-writing software.

Need an eager crew willing to work for fractions of what Big Hollywood Union types work for? Go to your local college and seek out those seeking degrees in the industry. Surely you can find actors, actresses, camera operators, electric, editors, etc.

Here is point #1: You do not need millions of dollars to create your own movie or television show any longer.

How do I know what you need to make a decent flick?

Not only have I worked and continue to work in Hollywood as a stunt professional and actor, I have also made my own independent feature length movie called Dark of Light.

Dark of Light cost approximately $10,000.00 to make. That is correct, ten thousand US Dollars.

Here is the biggest issue however, I along with virtually every other independent filmmaker encounters, Distribution.

Distribution is possibly, and arguably one of the most challenging issues faced by independent filmmakers. You need to shop around your finished product to folks whom you must take a leap of faith with—folks you do not know, do not trust, and do not care about security. And you do this, more often than not, without any form of contractual paperwork or NDA.

Imagine having a platform for independent filmmakers which is 100% controlled by the owner of their product through decentralized storage.

Imagine having the right to put your own price tag on your own product.

Imagine having a film out on the net which others use and those individuals get your film recommended to them based off their past viewings.

Imagine being a movie enthusiast whom always wanted to finance a film they felt deeply about.

Imagine being able to do all these things and have a resource to assist you in crowdfunding your next big feature.

Welcome to Stream Space.

These are just a few of the perks behind Stream Space but let’s be very honest for just one moment.

The greatest point behind Stream Space is the fact that everything falls under a decentralized platform with smart contract applications which to date, I know of no other entertainment platform’s existence for movies and television.

Some folks may wish to read more about Stream Space and I encourage you to do so by taking a look at their White Paper.

Maybe you don't have the time to read through their white paper, I get it. Well, at least take a minute or two to watch their video which explains Stream Space.

I have looked at their White Paper and can confirm that every fact they listed about the industry and its dramatic shifts over the years are true. I can also attest that the points in difficulties they make in regards to independent filmmakers are also true.

I can also declare that I have absolutely zero affiliation with Stream Space as I am not a part of their team in any way shape or form excluding I have purchased a small amount of their tokens during their ICO which ends February 22nd.

I want people to understand that I am passionate about the film industry knowing it has a ton of excellent elements within but at the same time, I also realize it is an industry that needs serious change considering its constant state of implosion which cannot be corrected. If it is an implosion that cannot correct itself, then maybe it is time to accept this and look for alternative ways, in part, to reinvent itself.

Of course, this is not financial advice but rather should be looked at from a guy who knows just a small bit about Hollywood, its shortfalls, and a potential solution on the matter. And personally, I think that solution, or at least part of that solution may come from Stream Space.

Sort:  

Definitely an established industry that needs its ass handed to it. I may actually go to the movie theaters again :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63345.39
ETH 3130.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48