**Is maidsafe the next under-promoted antshares/NEO?**steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Screenshot 2017-07-08 16.55.22.png (Sorry don't click on the picture but where it reappears below as the actual video. I did it as a picture as well so it would show up on the left of this post)
Here is a video from Wild Promotion describing a crypto I invested in last autumn that many people will know about. It is a parallel internet embracing everything that Golem, Sia, and ethereum try to do in a single network. It is distributed hardware and processing supported infrastructure made out of spare resources on user' computers. It is fast because it uses a special kind of consensus algorithm ( it is not strictly speaking blockchain but like it in many ways). The decentralisation provides privacy. It has a finite amount of cryptocurrency that are paid to users for providing their computing resources, and redeemed against applications and is recycled..

They have an alpha test already so I keep going to forums to find out when launch is and why people on forums aren't more excited. There is some fatigue from early investors as this has been a 10 year project or something. But a string of posts on Maidsafe's company forum in the last week makes for interesting reading. There is an entire thread of some employees and keen investors arguing about whether they should be promoting maidsafe. The gist is there was huge resistance because they only had an alpha and nothing yet to give the end users because that wouldn't come till 2018 and they didn't want to over promote something too soon. The push back was "but you've accomplished so much more than most other blockchains that are almost all hype today.

You've already produced something amazing today and it is already in alpha....and launch is next year" (Paraphrased by me). I feel this approach is similar to antshares (about to be rebranded NEO) who put their heads down and developed and developed till they have something that sounds quite impressive before they started promoting it in the west - even now westerners on reddit and elsewhere have been left promoting it for them in the absence of much good material from antshares itself!

Here is the thread discussing whether to promote maidsafe that I found on their forum and refer to above:
https://safenetforum.org/t/we-should-be-more-active-on-reddit/14520

I'd encourage people to look again at Maidsafe if they haven't for a while. I sense this might become a reality next year and to date the modesty of the team means the market cap doesn't reflect what they've achieved in comparison to other cryptos with much higher market caps and much less to show for the development.

I reckon @jerrybanfield should approach maidsafe for a fee to promote them if the implication in the discussion thread above that they are just a year or so away from launch is true. It must have one of the highest reality: hype ratios of all the cryptocurrencies.

Update on 9 July: Maidsafe competitor to launch in Q3 2017
Maidsafe appears to have a competitor launching end user applications in Q3 2017 called Skycoin. I've just written an in depth post about this. https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@katythompson/skycoin-the-new-internet-launching-q3-2017-for-end-user-use If you get in quick maybe you could up vote it?! Thanks so much!

Should you invest?
Check out my criteria for picking a long term portfolio https://steemit.com/crypto-news/@katythompson/5-criteria-for-choosing-a-winning-long-term-crypto-portfolio It isn't too late to tip me or up vote me as you have a month from publication I think. Those that saw the post complimented me but as I only had 4 followers at the time hardly anyone has seen it. I would hugely appreciate you sharing it or upvoting it. Thanks

Sort:  

Glad to hear more talk about MaidSafe - I, too, have had an eye on it. I held back on investing until they wrapped up Alpha 1 with a commitment to move to Alpha 2. Combine that with having formally published their development roadmap and I'm comfortable taking a speculative position. Also, I'm considering participating in public testing in order to get a view from the inside.

So, while I always hope for a bright future with every project/coin/token, wisdom dictates that I limit and distribute risk. So far that has worked out for me with two run away winners along with 16 breaking even or losing.

@lances Sounds like a good approach. You might also be interested to check out a maidsafe competitor I jus wrote up today that seems like it will be launching end user applications Q3 2017 https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@katythompson/skycoin-the-new-internet-launching-q3-2017-for-end-user-use

I like the concept of MaidSafe...and like you said, it is a similar concept to Golem, Sia, etc etc. MaidSafe marketcap today seems reasonable for what it is....but marketing is everything in crypto coins. With a good marketing push it could easily double.

Another one I really like the concept of is Factom...but they don't market at all so probably won't go on a bull run like others do.

Maidsafe is all of golem, sia etc rolled into one. Yes I like Factom - it has a wide range of use cases. I bought Factom and Maid last autumn when I put my initial portfolio together. And I bought some skycoin recently too as this is a competitor to maidsafe and is actually launching sooner (later this year). See my post from yesterday about that. https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@katythompson/skycoin-the-new-internet-launching-q3-2017-for-end-user-use Do up vote it if you like it ! thanks!

Maidsafe has a chance to change the game. It may grow beyond imagination in few years time!

Hi @bart.tomas Is that based on a hopeful investor's view or do you know a lot about them and their technology? If the former join the club (!). If the latter can you elaborate a bit please for the rest of us? I mean obviously I think from what's in my post about them that they have substance but if you have any more to add to that I'm eager to learn whatever I can. Or if you're in a position to have a view about the technology that would be interesting... Thanks in advance...

My knowledge is not that extensive. I am just average Joe, but I listen and learn.
I always ask myself a question if the technology has a chance to make a difference? And maidsafe is truly revolutionary. Just can't wait to put my hands on that technology.
It has been in development for around ten years. It may become a replacement for internet we know. It will adapt, because it has something truly unique to offer. Safety and privacy.
Next 5-10 years everything will change. Just open your eyes.
P.S



thanks @Bart.tomas Will up vote you. Check out what I just found out on skycoin which are a competitor and launching the first applications for end user use in Q3 of this year https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@katythompson/skycoin-the-new-internet-launching-q3-2017-for-end-user-use

Great video. Thank you for the information.

you're welcome glad it was useful @bloomberg215. Thanks for visiting.

@bloomberg215 check out a maidsafe competitor I jus wrote up today that seems like it will be launching end user applications Q3 2017 https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@katythompson/skycoin-the-new-internet-launching-q3-2017-for-end-user-use

Hey, thanks for the info. I've been watching maidsafe for a little while now. I'm really happy to hear they are looking to launch next year, That's not very far off. I may have to finally pull the trigger. Thanks again!

Hi @agcrypt - you're welcome but you (and others) should also do your own research and read the thread . Normally I discount things on these discussion forums but the fact that some of the staff don't want to promote it till they're closer launch makes the comments about timescales more rather than less believable. If you find anything more out can you add it in here for the discussion so others can also benefit please ? Thanks in advance

I will definitely do that. No worries here, I'm one of those people who takes forever to make a decision. My wife hates that about me, heh. Dyodd, for sure!

@agcrypt check out a maidsafe competitor I jus wrote up today that seems like it will be launching end user applications Q3 2017 https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@katythompson/skycoin-the-new-internet-launching-q3-2017-for-end-user-use

OK, will do!

I have heard of maidsafe before, thank you for the rich content :)

@zyzz check out a maidsafe competitor I jus wrote up today that seems like it will be launching end user applications Q3 2017 https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@katythompson/skycoin-the-new-internet-launching-q3-2017-for-end-user-use

You're most welcome. Glad it was helpful

It is a risky one. But a very compelling offer if successful.

Hi @funkit Do you understand the risks enough to explain them a bit to me please? Thanks.... ever keen to learn more about this one.

The risk is multi faceted. 1. They might not be capable. 2. They might run out of money. 3. They might be beaten by others, though I highly doubt it.

One of the most interesting projects around. I hope they succeed.

Ok - thanks @funkit . Makes sense. I hope so too!

I usually make lots of sense. And i can't let this project just be without investigating a little. I'm very cautious, but mine some at eobot every day.

@funkit you might be interested to check out a maidsafe competitor I just wrote up today that seems like it will be launching end user applications Q3 2017 https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@katythompson/skycoin-the-new-internet-launching-q3-2017-for-end-user-use

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.26
ETH 2668.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79