Be careful what you post on Facebook - it can have unexpected consequences

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

So, feeling confident, and somewhat reckless, I posted onto my Facebook page, "Just got into the cryptocurrency market. I'm either going to be very rich or WANTED by the Feds, but hopefully, both...."

FB message.JPG

To which my sister-in-law, Anna, replied,
"PM me what you're buying and where"
Thinking she was interested in learning about the space, I responded with a list, extolling the virtues of the decentralised exchanges, where you can make money disappear.
She wrote back, "Not interested for myself, but this is for work."
ME: "So where do you work?"
ANNA: "ASIC" (Australian Securities and Investments Commission).
I knew she was a lawyer, but I had some vague idea she worked for ATSIC - the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Commission, although the things she said about work never really added up. Now I knew why.

Interestingly, she told me that the RBA (Reserve Bank of Australia) isn't interested in the space, thinking it applies to a limited few who will get their fingers burned and by not recognising potential capital gains, they avoid writing off what they perceive as inevitable capital losses.

However, she said they are interested in exchanges, which will soon need a license to operate in Australia.
Needless to say, I'll be a little more careful what I post in future. You never know who may be watching and once it's out there, it's hard to delete.

Sort:  

Urgh! I'm sick of government's sticking their noses into this stuff. Just let people be and able to invest in whatever they want.

They want you to work till you're 70 and tax everything you earn. They treat the people as if they're the enemy. The enemy of whom? Big business? Weird, really. They attack the unions, who are the only organisations between us and working with limited conditions....

meep

meep

meep

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69935.17
ETH 3451.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69