My Crazy Crypto Journey

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

My journey into cryptocurrency has been a real roller-coaster ride. It was fun in the beginning but nauseating towards the end. This is how it began. One day at work, my boss told me about bitcoin, because one of the very first people involved with bitcoin was once an intern in our office. I looked it up on my computer and saw that it was selling for around $350. My boss and I lamented how we should have bought it for pennies (even though we didn’t know about it then). We didn’t consider buying it for $350 because it seemed like a lot.
Fast forward several months, maybe a year, when I checked it again it was selling for $6,000. WTF. I kept an eye on it and soon it was $7000 and then $8000 and I thought I have to buy this, who knows how high it will go. But I really didn’t have enough money to buy more than a bit of bitcoin. So, I bought a few hundred dollars worth of bitcoin and a few altcoins.
All in all, I spent about $2,000. This was around Thanksgiving 2017.
Well, soon my $2,000 was $3,000 and $4,000 and I began telling people about it. I thought I was truly brilliant for buying it when I did. It was going up so fast. Then on January 3, I know the date because I took pictures of my portfolio, at 3 in the afternoon it was $14,000. An hour later it was $16,000, then, $17,000, $20,000, $22,000 and the highest it went was almost $25,000. I was sure I was going to have $100,000 in a few weeks.
And then the rollercoaster went over the edge. I think it went down faster than it went up. It had been so much fun checking my portfolio a million times a day, when it was going up $100 an hour. It's not fun anymore. Now, my portfolio yo-yos between $6,000 and $8,000, depending on the day. It’s still more than my $2000 investment, but knowing it has been over $24,000 makes me sad sometimes.
That’s not the end of my frustrations. At times, I’ve wanted to buy more altcoins, but none of the exchanges let me. After buying on Bitsmart they suddenly need 3d verified credit cards and when I called my bank they told me my card isn't eligible. Other sites don’t sell to NY. I try now and then, and none of the exchanges will take my money. Sometimes I think this is a blessing, at least I'm not buying altcoins that are losing money. The good news is I'm optimistic that everything will go up again.
And that, my new friends, is my story. I hope the picture below doesn't give away hidden information about me, I don't know how that works. I'm pretty sure everyone else here does.

IMG_1013.PNG

Sort:  

Nice story... but i think that , it will not be repeated in the future

That's sad. One can hope.

Congratulations @karenedit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58044.48
ETH 2352.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36