I sold my ETC after the hard fork in 2016; now I'm rushing to buy back at 10x the price!

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

AdobeStock_159145070.jpeg

It is amazing how knowledge can be the sole determinor of how value is assessed. When I sold my ETC after the hardfork in 2016, I couldn't get rid of it fast enough because I thought it was going to zero. I figured I had my ETH which thank goodness had kept its value, at least I can get a buck and change per coin for this worthless ETC...

Now fast forward to today, I'm actually selling back some of my ETH to get back into ETC... at about 10x the price I sold it for! Now it looks like ETC arguably should be worth more than ETH! Why the change? Well, I got knowledge. I got INFORMED.

ETC is the immutable ledger. This ledger is follows the law of code. This ledger is truly decetralized. This ledger has the plan to cap the coin supply at around 250 million. This ledger is closer to Bitcoin and therefore is a true store of VALUE (ie the place to invest?) ETH is arguably corrupted by greedy corporations, has no upper limit set , and has a leader that bends to the will of investors and special interests.

Now I am understanding that ETH may have another hard fork and split chain in the future. This may come when ETH moves to Proof of Stake (POS). Many of the miners DO NOT support POS and have apparently already taken a stand that they will support the original chain. If that weren't enough, I am now also hearing that Enterprise Ethereum Alliance (EEA) members are going to create private chains of their own, and not necessarily run on the main chain. And THEN there are these maddening ICO's that are siphoning hundreds of millions of dollars out of the ETH main ledger by bartering their own tokens for them and then liquidating to fiat. Where does it end???

ETC has all the same properties as ETH, so all the decentralized applications (DAPPS) that are being developed for ETH will work just fine on ETC as well. Also, Barry Silbert (of Second Market fame) is making a big long term investment in ETC as he believes in ledger immutability as a matter of core governance. He is even working on an ETC investment Trust so that institutional investors can easily invest in ETC.

All in all I have to say that I really am concerned about what I'm seeing on the ETH side, and surprisingly finding ETC to be more pallatable to me as an investor. What are all your thoughts? I'd love to here your opinions...

Cheers

  • Kalienx777

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61823.88
ETH 2390.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57