Blockchain Tech: Anarchist Paradise or Orwellian Nightmare?


Thoughts on the potential double-edged sword of the crypto revolution regarding state surveillance.

Discussing new and promising coins such as Civic (CVC) along with potential pitfalls.

As an emphatically pro-crypto, blockchain evangelist, I think it is also important from time to time to reflect on potential detriments of "life on the blockchain."


~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Very interesting video. I thought for a second you were going to mention ripple as the 'crypto currency ' I believe more and more people are becoming aware of cryptocurrencies given the level of media attention.

I also see that people are waking up to the fact they are in a rigged system that enslaves us all! Very interesting take on civic been used for both good and evil. We live in a world with a lot of redundant process and 'pings' as you put it, expose us every step of the way. There's so much happening in crypto at the moment, I guess we will have to see how it all pans out and be prepared for anything within our control because the people in power don't want us to be free one bit.

I guess we will have to see how it all pans put and be prepared for anything within our control because the people in power don't want us to be free one bit.

^This, all day long. Couldn't have said it better.

The do not want to lose control to crypto or to any identity company like Civic. Both Civic, and crypto in general will be attacked in the future, but the good thing about decentralized, distributed, software, is how resilient it is to overcoming these hurdles. The fireworks will fly, but I think in the end, crypto just offers a better business model and incentives, to deal with security issues. Specially when it's with our IDs online.

@kafkanarchy84 - As usual, you hit the nail on the head while identifying the privacy concerns. While today, bits and pieces of our personal data are floating out there (with telephone companies and various services where we need to register) in an unsecure manner, a secure solution would be great to have so that all the services can authentically get data (only when needed for authentic purposes). Therefore, Civic coin does have promise as you say. However, I also am concerned with the downside, as pointed out by you - what if the 'secure storage' gets breached???
Great video blog. Thanks for sharing. Upvoted full.
Regards,

@vm2904

It would be handy to have all that info in one place, but what is handy for you and me is also handy for criminals to try to breach and governments to use. I don't really trust any govt 100% so even if I'm doing no wrong they could in future use it against me, at least if it's bits of info spread all over it's harder to piece bits together. Call me paranoid but you got to be a bit wary especially if some nut gets into power and decides to start doing stuff that all your info would be very useful to them and detrimental to you. Upvoted your reply as I think it is very valid as is the main post which also got an upvote

In my country they are trying to push through a law that allows the Secret Service (AIVD). To be able to hack into any machine they like and take your files and details. The end of digital privacy.

Wow, Great video. Do you know this is the first time am hearing about cvc and am not a novice to crypto. Thank you very much, I surely give it a try. Also about privacy, yes although I have been faulting in that aspect, am not doing as I should. I've learnt a lot from here which I'll put to practice. Tanx

Civic sounds cool. I live in a building and have no backyard to bury gold

Wow! Friend,great information about crpto world. Yes security and privacy is the most important when ever you invest your every thing your time money and yourself. Thanks for your great belief and assurance about the cvc too. I have great faith in you, you are genius enough to make me guide in my journey of steemit community. Wish you a very good day and also make a request to see me too. Thanks.

Have a nice day
You wrote so beautifully, that started to follow you.
Thank you. For your great writing and for sharing

Thanks for sharing such an new concept of cryptotechnology...i. e "civic coin". Brilliant idea..,which can be used everywhere with its privacy control,and with own security.. Now, waiting for how well it can be implemented and it's survival..

Thanks for the advice about CIVIC!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59351.18
ETH 2529.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42