Cryptocurrency Dabbling: Thoughts at the Halfway Point

8CE8ABC6-E8D5-40B7-8199-E5F3A8ABF3DE.jpeg
Hi, all, it's been a bit, but I've been pretty busy, and of the energy and time to spare when family and vocation have taken their rightful shares have been swallowed by other, more pressing enterprises.

Since it's been three weeks since my last post, I thought I'd return to the original--simultaneously the least original--topic of the blog; my tiny cryptocurrency investment.

The Set Up

Here, for those who missed the original set-up, is a recapitulation thereof:

  1. I unexpectedly found myself in possession of an extra $150 last December.
  2. I used the $150 to fund an experiment intended to test how useful the cryptocurrency market is for an average investor. In other words, I divided my money into $50 portions and plunked it on the three most popular and prominent cryptocurrencies of the time. My goal wasn't, and isn't to discover what a shrewd and active investor can accomplish with cryptocurrency--it was to investigate the utility of cryptocurrency as a wealth-building medium for an everyday blockhead like me.
  3. Along the way, I've been blogging on Steemit to see what kind of income this platform adds to the pile. I also, while Etheruem was briefly doing well, transferred $10 of my profits into ADA.
  4. Other than posting and commenting and so forth on Steemit, I'm allowing my money to ebb and flow with the caprices of the market. I'll reevaluate my position on December 20 of this year.

The Halfway Point

So here we are, halfway through a year that started with apprehensive excitement. The cryptocurrency world was a cacophony of babblers, all of them predicting utopias of one kind or another. It's almost six months later, and here are some halfway-there thoughts:

  1. My Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin and Cardano investments add up to just over half of what I started with.
  2. The market has stubbornly refused to follow the prognostications of the esteemed babblers who make their money off of prognosticating good fortune for the multitudes.
  3. Most of the prognosticators have been revealed to me as false prophets, frauds, hucksters or--if I'm being generous, they’re naive and ended up with correct conclusions a time or two in the past while operating from false premises, such that there's no reason to believe their prognostications nor to heap virtual gold on them.
  4. Consistent, attractive content creation remains the only reliable way to make money online. It's more fun, and it takes a lot more work than most people (me included, most of the time) are willing to put into it.
  5. I haven't given up hope that the investment will turn around. But I've mostly given up hope that it'll turn around in 2018.

Where We Stand

In alphabetical order:
ADA: $2.57
BTC: $22.48
EAV: $264.14
ETH: $31.73
LTC: $18.30

Sort:  

Coins mentioned in post:

CoinPrice (USD)📉 24h📈 7d
ADACardano0.208$-4.65%10.5%
BTCBitcoin7419.250$-2.66%2.96%
ETHEthereum587.106$-3.39%10.32%
LTCLitecoin117.224$-4.16%2.21%

Hi @juanersatzman

Just accidently bumped into your profile just to realize that we seem to share a number of interests :)

In particular that we both share a similar passion towards cryptocurrencies and blockchain technology :)

big fat upvote on the way! :)

I will follow you closely :)
Take care, Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94