You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Starting adventures in crypto mining

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

I mined with a couple antminer s7's back in the day. Ordered them straight from Bitmain. They were very LOUD and produced lots of HEAT. My electricity costs $.07/Kw/h so @ today's BTC difficulty and price one S7 would net me around $7 profit per day. I don't run them right now, however, for the above reasons. Hopefully soon I'll upgrade and get the newer S9's and dedicate a place for a proper set up (to deal with heat & noise) before I start mining again.

Sort:  

Interesting that they would still turn a profit :)

Yes, with the current price of bitcoin... they still do turn a profit. If prices went below $4k or so I think it's a break even and a loss if prices go below $2k. My plan in the future is to get some solar panels and/or wind generators so the only costs for mining is maintenance/repair of the electrical generating system (plus asic/psu fans which do go out on occasion) and then store the BTC for long term. I haven't checked the profit potential of mining BCH recently, I heard it was even better than bitcoin, but I could be wrong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66924.37
ETH 3085.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71