You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should I Sell My House To Buy Crypto?

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

I wouldn't ever give 'advice' because I'm not a licensed financial advisor. :)

Having said that, I personally wouldn't go into debt to invest in crypto.

Getting out from under an expense and/or taking profit to speculate with is an ENTIRELY different animal than taking on debt to speculate.

Said another way, you want to gain, not lose. Taking on debt is losing.

If you took out $10k or less that's one thing....if/as one can pay that off even if lost it all. Dumb but might be worth it in a risk/benefit analysys, depending on you and your scenario.

But taking out $100k+ as personal debt to gamble?? Hell no. If you win you win big great, but if you lose you lose BIG. Again, it's all relative. If you can afford to gamble with $100k of debt, I would (but I can't, so....therefore it would be REALLY REALLY dumb.)

Common wisdom is 'Don't invest more than you can lose'. Which is really 'Don't gamble more than you can afford to lose'. You can't afford to lose $100,000 -and- still owe $100,000 to the bank (which could possibly end up with the entire home and whatever equity you have in it).

Sort:  

Agreed! I would never take out a loan to invest in something. Trying to be debt free not accumulate it. Never invest more than you stand to lose is sound investing; otherwise it's just gambling.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49