Getting Ready For Main Street Adoption of Alt-Coins

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

Randy and I talking about crypto at SteemFest

Some here on Steemit may not be aware that I have been talking about Crypto since 2011. I began buying very little in 2011 -2012 but did start my buy and hold strategy at that time. Lost some in different tests and even mined a little to a drive I cannot find. In 2013 I was serious and started buying below $300 and have kept adding, growing, mining, and trying many different ways to earn, and diversify. When I survived the ETH hardfork and ended up with double coins and sold at $14 USD I felt really smart until now with the price at $700 USD. 

Now today is here, and FaceBook only makes me angry so I am going to post here first. Then share to Facebook and everyone will just need to get a Steemit account. So here goes my posting here for today, and I will try to add my thoughts, and commentary on the different news headlines that catch my attention, and drive what crypto I'm involved in.

Since I come from a hardware semiconductor background I lean towards technology I think will be adopted, and have international appeal. Sometimes it's also about what others think have value, and today that is what I'm focused, and researching about.

With Bitcoin's rising sometimes people has a tendency to pile on. Now we are holders of bitcoin, but I don't think that is where the real story will be. Some of the Alt-Coins have functionality that bitcoin just doesn't have, and I'm not the only investor that has noticed. Major investors have noticed, and plans are moving forward to create very large hedge funds. One of the hedge funds is from Galaxy Investment Partners, and when investing long term I do want to know what others find interesting, and possible long term value. I then take this information and compare it to what I know about a certain company or project.

Image via CNBC and link to article is here.

Meet the hottest thing in hedge funds right now: the 'crypto-fund'

Image from CoinMarketcap.com

I'm focusing on this list from coinmarketcap today, and will add positions to most of these. I'm not a fan of Ripple due to their international banker, and central banker connections so I may not buy any Ripple.

I don't know what crypto's they will target but Galaxy Investment Partners will start buying 2.5 Billion worth of crypto-currency very soon. Hold good assets, and be ready for volatility and larger swings within the Alt-Coins. I'm going to scour through any old media for hints at what might be of interest to them, and will report back here in future posts. 

Until Next Time

@johngentry

Sort:  

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 45.7% Upvote

What does everyone think about distributed decentralized exchanges concept.?

This will be huge. It will allow for competition for lowest fees per transaction during an exchange. At the moment you have to accept the terms and fees given to you by the exchange you are using or accept the less than optimal exchange you get on shapeshift.

Nice share. I too will be staying away from Ripple.

Thanks @pbgreenpoint Ripple will make a good trade is they show up on coinbase. Other than that I just don't trust them.

This is an amazing business, and I really love it. At 19 I'm on track to be way ahead of my peers in the years to come.

Yes, and your on track to have some good earnings in 2018. Happy trading!

If these news are true then we should be investing in altcoins. To be honest lately I was focusing only on alts because I find it really impossible for bitcoin to double its value on the short term while some good alts can do more than that!

Yes there is some really good deals, and allot of nice technology. Just as in the internet boom some won't make it, and others will survive. Today is very different in one sense and that is these projects are basically all crowdfunded, and un-regulated. So these projects have a better chance to survive long enough as long as they have a strong community supporting their coin.

Exactly, just as Steem does, this is a very healthy thing!

I really feel that way too. This is really exciting and honestly I haven't felt this way since my first ipod touch in 2008. I'm getting that same feeling like this is something special and amazing and its going to influence our lives the world around us bigly.

This post has received gratitude of 1.00 % from @jout

You got a 0.27% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jout!

I am telling all newbies to stick to the coins and tokens that Coinbase has. I heard they are adding Monero, Dash and Ripple. Oh how I hate Ripple but it might be a good riskier trade for people.

I have to comment on that.
Coinbase is a sign of what altcoins are going to the moon.
Good suggestion.
Thanks for sharing.

Yes @pouchon your right and the numbers don't lie. Just look at the run ETH and LTC had in 2017.

I think this article sums is up well. https://bitcoinist.com/altcoins-coming-coinbase-says-ceo-brian-armstrong/

"Speculation is all that we currently have on what particular altcoins will be added to Coinbase. It is likely they will come from the top of the market capacity charts, which tend to be the most popular coins by demand. So in 2018 will we be seeing Ripple, NEO, IOTA, and Bitcoin Cash listed on Coinbase – or will they be selecting Dash, Monero, Nem, and Bitcoin Gold – or maybe all of the above?"

I have the same information, and Monero is something I'm very in too. I hold Dash, and don't like Ripple but may consider trading it.

I've been thinking about Monero lately. I think privacy-focused cryptocurrencies are where it's at right now. Transaction fees seemed high last time I looked into getting some Monero which was a little discouraging. Not BTC high, but higher than I expected. I like ZCash as well. I'm wondering what improvements are going to made in 2018 in terms of privacy, which is a big part of why I think cryptocurrencies are popular in the first place.

There are several new coin startup's working on this, and we are looking into decentralized exchanges operating on mobile devices.

Congratulations @johngentry, this post is the seventh most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 2514 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2743.93. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Stratis for ease of use out into market place as a coin/token to hold. Monero for privacy, coins branched off where good community reside in Superior Coin.

Hedge funds enticing other firms to enter the fray may be good building into the future. IMHO this form of banking only introduced in the '70's and early 80's can in itself be hit and miss, taking into consideration volatile nature of crypto currencies.

Decentralised exchanges still early days, decentralised tools face a number of challenges by what I have read.

Research, buy and hold keeping both eyes on the ball at all times, nice article thanks John.

Times are changing fast, and we must accept that our success will bring with it the darkness, and we must be willing to change quickly to keep ahead.

A Roller Coaster Ride for sure,!

@joanstewart SuperiorCoin is coming along nicely , team is working hard for it to be a viable, easy, anonymous, and fast solution. SuperiorCoin to the ends of the Earth and beyond.

The updates have been amazing, community have settled and Superior Coin has a future with good number of miners and investors daily.

Have you looked into TRON at all?

@thisfoolskip Yes and I'm an owner of this low tier coin. They have a unique concept, and a large team of people. Singapore is an expensive place to operate a business, and I suspect they are really Chinese nationals. Higher risk play then most of my long term holds but some of the people involved due have deep pockets.

I'm ready for it. Random thought, but I was at a street fair recently and paid for my lunch at a taco truck via my credit card and thought how close we are to them accepting crypto. Why not? Do you need a square card reader attached to your tablet to swipe my card? Couldn't I just send you something through a crypto-wallet?

The software Apps are already available and free. Bitpay has a really nice one I use it sometimes.

True. I guess it just isn't mainstream yet

Japan has this already going strong, and others will be following along as time goes on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99