CryptFolio - The Utterly Amazing Portfolio Management Tool You've Always Needed... [Coinmarketcap.com API]

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

The key to good portfolio management is in the name; you have to keep an eye on it, ready to make a move as soon as it is needed. However, for those of you who abide with the golden rule of not leaving your crypto on the exchange, portfolio management can be an extremely difficult task at the easiest of times!


However, for me this task becomes even harder. My portfolio consists of a few coins which simply can’t be purchased on every exchange. For this reason I have accounts on about 4 or 5 different exchanges. For the larger coins that have stable, easy-to-use wallets I happily abide by the golden rule, but for smaller ones I just can’t always be bothered! Additionally, main laptop is a chromebook so disk-space is a luxury and I simply can’t download 6 or 7 wallets.


As a result, portfolio management was really difficult; and this really bothered me. Initially, I spent about 30-40 minutes every day logging into each different exchange monitoring the value. After about a week of this I was sick. There had to be a better way. I wracked my brains for ages. Then I decided to make a Google Sheets document to keep track of my portfolio. Although, this still involved manually inputting the up-to-date value of each coin to calculate the overall value. It cut my morning task down to about 10 minutes. A huge relief, but after about a week I even got sick of this!



Then, one day, I was perusing Reddit, on the look out for the latest crypto updates I stumbled across the Holy Grail…



Coinmarketcap has an API that allows you to grab all sorts of data from the coinmarketcap website such as price, market size, and 24 hour % change. Now I consider myself fairly techie, I can 'sudo' my way through a command line better than most, but I still could not figure this one out! Thankfully, this handy person on GitHub explains the whole thing and has the code for the price of a coin rewritten!


This has literally changed the way I manage my portfolio. The whole process has become streamlined. All I do is open my Google Sheets document, wait a few seconds, and BINGO:


These are the coins in my portfolio, although obviously not the real amount I hold of each!



I’m not a huge fan of day trading as I don’t know the first thing about chart analysis (well okay, I know green is usually good and red usually bad but after that...) my chosen approach to growing my crypto wealth is portfolio management. Without a doubt, I feel it’s the safest way to make money in this market; all that’s needed is the time and ability to research (or if you’re limited on both just follow me and read my posts!). I always keep an eye on the performance of the coins I hold as well as those which I would like to hold. Now I have one document which is perfect for all my portfolio needs. In the interest of portfolio management, on the bottom right of the above picture, I've even added a section to my document which analyses my portfolio using the CryptFolio Matrix giving me greater insight to the sustainability of my portfolio!


The GitHub account has all the instructions necessary to implement this into your own document. If you need further I’m always willing to lend a hand :)


So to ‘rathergood’ whoever you, cheers my friend! There’s a BTC address on the GitHub page if you’re feeling generous and want to reward the person who took the time to explain this awesome tool! If you’re feeling super generous and want to send some ETH or ERC20 tokens my way here’s my address: jcooper7.eth


Now get to it and start managing your portfolio the CryptFolio way!



---

This is part of a super regular segment I'll be doing, to make sure you don't miss out click through to my profile and follow me! Let me know in the comments below if you do, I'd appreciate it! Also, got any comments, questions or suggestions fire those at me too!


Disclaimer: For legal reasons, this is not intended as advice, I'm happy playing with fire with my own money, I do not by any means suggest you do the same moves I do. I will, however, be posting them, and the reasons here, and if you choose to follow me, then sweet!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jhcooper7 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Great post, as I was looking for a way to calculate my portfolio of coins. So I will follow the given instructions

Perfect! It's very handy, especially with the recent negative publicity for blockfolio! Let me know if I can help in anyway!

Very useful post, thanks for leting us know. I was following my coins only on Blockfolio on my mob, but this looks awsome too.

Yeah I really wanted to download Blockfolio, but the great thing about using this method is that I can access it on any of my devices. The document is saved to my Google Drive, so even if I'm on a friends device I can still access it :)

That is perfect, I will look into it more deeply. The only advantage of Blockfoilio is that it looks great (adictive :)

Hahaha yes! For me though a boring spreadsheet is the advantage. Otherwise I'd do nothing but stare at my portfolio all day ;)

Great quality post again, @jhcooper7!

I get your frustration. Still have the same feeling sometimes. Nowadays I check my portfolio far less often then I used to, luckily :-) I use BlockFolio myself and for me that's enough for now. I'll remember your post when I need more that just that app ;-)

Thanks my friend!

I tried BlockFolio, personally I much prefer using the API, but each to their own :)

Thanks man, I am a new trader/investor in this crypto world. Trying to learn all I can and seeing there's so many angles to look at this stuff from! Good Work!

Thanks! Yeah we've all been there! Enjoy the ride, if you've got any questions don't hesitate to ask!

thanks for these useful infos!

Congratulations @jhcooper7! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great post :)

thnx for the S/O internet stranger dude! Glad the code is being put to use.

Thanks for developing this script, and thanks jhcooper for propagating. I just made a new post to share my own portfolio manager Google Sheet in which I put it to use.

Nice post and suggestions. Evaluate each product based on various factors such as market demand, financial performance, strategic fit, and lifecycle stage. I read a post about this topic https://www.epicflow.com/blog/product-portfolio-management-what-it-is-and-why-it-matters-for-business-leaders/ and how it better used in your company for better user experience and financial benefit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56714.19
ETH 2341.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37