My steem dollars became real cash

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

This is the last part in a short series where I discover how a newbie like me can easily convert steem dollars to cash. To my amazement this was really straightforward and should be doable for everybody. The future is bright :-D

In the previous article I explained why and how to convert the steem dollars to litecoin. The last challenge is to convert the Litecoin to real cash, in my case Euro.

To do this my first choice was btcdirect but they required a minimum of 1 Litecoin, which I don’t have. I used the services of Litebit because their minimum is 15 Euro. You only need to register and give them your phone number for this small amount. Once registered simply go to sell and fill in the following form. The return address is the address of your wallet. Sorry for the screenshots in Dutch. I didn’t pay attention. The website is available in English as well.

Next you get 15 minutes to transfer the Litecoin you wish to sell to their address. Notice this screenshot was taken after the transfer. Hence the green box at the top.

Now go to the wallet and transfer the amount. The slight difference is because I have been playing around and the screenshots were not all taken at the same time. The amount fluctuated a bit.

Eventually Litebit and my wallet both confirmed the transaction. Next was the scary moment. The coins are gone and there is nothing on the bank account. They do bank transactions at 11:30 and 16:30. But nothing happened. To make things more scary they sent an email in the evening that some of their services were hacked (see this story). They detailed that no coins were lost but email, hashed password, phone number, etc were compromised. Not a nice first experience. My trust is gone immediately. I also sent a report request before but haven’t got an answer after four days. It just shows how important it is to use different passwords for all these different services.

This morning however:

The money was on my bank account!

It was all easier than expected and shouldn’t scare newbies. I hope this series helped you out a bit in your own discoveries.
Now, what shall I do with my first earned crypto bucks?

Sort:  

Congratulation for ur cash

Thanks. It's a bit hard to find the info. But in the end it turns out to be quite easy.

I believe in crypto, but being new it gives a very reassuring feeling.

yes. crypto has a bright future ahead.

Nice! Well done!

"Now, what shall I do with my first earned crypto bucks?"

Reinvest into new hardware to churn out some more ofcourse! ;)

I'm already doing so -> Gridcoin. Check my other stories for more info.

Congratulations @jefpatat! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jef Patat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13