Lessons from my quest to enter the crypto worldsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)


Picture source: https://raw.github.com/shphrd/cryptocurrency-icons/master/

In my quest to start comprehending the world of crypto-currencies I have been reading around different news outlets and documents. From where I stand, it looks to me that crypto is set to become a good replacement for fiat, and yet every once in a while I encounter some skeptics saying this is just a hype. 

I found an article that has a sounded explanation as to what is lacking on Bitcoin to become what they called a "legit currency". I disagree with the author making the claim that there is still doubt about Bitcoin being the real deal. That initial statement asking if bit coin is a  legitimate currency  or imaginary money is like placing Bitcoin to the level of Monopoly money, that is imaginary money. I guess we all agree here that crypto-currencies are real and are here for the long run. Putting that aside, there are some interesting questions about safety, liquidity and returns. 

Safety is perhaps the bigger issue I have encounter. Given the recent issues with the Parity wallet and the general risk of hacking, I thing the concern about safety are valid. Also, as a safety issue almost everywhere they point that volatility associated with this currencies is high and is something any investor has to take into account before investing. Perhaps also related to liquidity I have been made aware of the scam like offers that are out there trying to get a grasp on your crypto, be careful!

I just wanted to share this short note on what has been a crazy and exciting ride for these few days learning and getting my first investments in crypto. I am paying attention now to what is going to happen with Bitcoin on August first, and if Bitcoin cash is going to take off. For the moment I feel Litecoin and Ripple seem to be reasonable bets at this point, I put some money on them. These are the main lessons I have learned from my first week as a crypto newbie and wanted to share with you all. I hope that with time I will be able to provide more thoughtful comments. Also, I am looking forward for your advice and comments. 

For those interested in my findings here are couple of links I liked:

http://www.marketwatch.com/story/this-is-what-it-will-take-for-bitcoin-to-become-a-legit-currency-2017-07-25

http://fortune.com/2017/07/25/bitcoin-ethereum-cryptocurrency-predictions/

Sort:  

welcome to the world of crypto investing :)

You can also trade in cryptos, which a lot of people do.

There is a magnificent world with a lot of opportunities, I highly recommend u to keep researching even deeper !!

nice post .... if you follow me and upvote i'll follow you and continue the upvotes for your coming posts.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Julio from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59631.75
ETH 2622.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41