Comparing stacking earnings from NEO, Lisk and SteemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

There are more and more new cryptocurrencies with proof of stake that not only increase in value but also pay for hodling. I own NEO, Lisk and Steem that are quite different between each other but all allow to earn some extra buck of passive income.


Image from hackernoon.com

Before hard fork I bought some amount of these tree coins. Lets just say that I spend the most money on Lisk and the least on NEO. Ok, now let's look how much are they worth.

CoinBought atROI
NEO6-7$+420%
Lisk1.7-2.4$+45%
Steem1-1.7$+4%

Looking at the data there is no doubt than NEO is the clear winner by far. Lisk provided with also quite nice grow for less than 2 months, while steem didn't move much.

Now let's compare passive earnings. NEO for example pay for stacking in GAS that can be then sold back to NEO, Lisk delegates pay you some percentage of their earnings, while steem provide many ways for income. One can write post, comments, videos, get paid for upvote, resteem, delegating power and so on. When it comes to NEO the situation is clear cut. You hold NEO in wallet and get GAS as reward. It's similar with Lisk, while I'm not sure my calculation is 100% correct since I did some changes with my votes not so long ago. I will post update if anything changes. In a way it's difficult to measure Steem because we can do so many things, but if I have to stay true to my word and compare only passive income then I can take into the account only the amount I get for delegating my steem power.

Coinearnings per dayearnings per month
NEO2.43$73$
Lisk2.16$65$
Steem1.68$50$

It's interesting to see that NEO despite huge ROI difference provide just little bit more of stacking earnings as the other two. looking back it sure would be best to buy more NEO but looking forward I'm not so sure. I just can't see it increasing more than 5 x in a year while I can imagine Steem en specialy Lisk increasing up to 7-10x in same amount of time. If this happen passive earnings would surpass NEO. This does't mean Im planing on selling my NEO any time soon, but I probably wont buy more.


Keep in mind this is not investment advice. You should do your own research before investing.
Sort:  

Great post. Have all 3 of them.

So, is it worth to delegate Lisk? I don't have much and from what I saw to delegate you need to do a vote, which I think costs 1 Lisk if I understood correctly.
Would be very helpful if you could share more about it.

You can read more in my previous post. https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@jaka87/lisk-which-delegate-to-vote-for . Basicly you can vote for 33 delegates per each vote, so you have to vote 3 times. The cost is then 3 Lisk and 0,18 to register for lisk elite. Keep in mind if you don't have a lot of Lisk it might take you months to cover your expenses...You can try calculating http://tools.mylisk.com/calculator.php

Yeah, it's not worth it for me... Now, that the price is up the expenses are astronomical. Oh well :D

Dont worry, there is always the next one...

Very good article. Thanks for bringing this to my attention. It always surprises me how people still sell when a crypto goes down. I mean just invest in solid coins and skip the shady ones. Crypto is here to stay. I was researching a way to do better investment analysis on the current cryptos. I found this amazing platform: https://www.coincheckup.com The best crypto analysis site by far. Complete in depth investment analysis.

This post has received a 2.09 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @jaka87.

Hey bro, good post.

Upvoted.

Quick question, do you need to keep the wallet open to get gas from NEO? Or is it generated automatically even with wallet closed?

Thx. It generates even when the wallet is closed. But you shouldn't have your coins on exchange. In that case you get nothing. I use Neon wallet https://github.com/CityOfZion/neon-wallet where you can claim GAS with a push of a button...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64646.46
ETH 3357.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.44