A quick note about prices AKA How to not panic sell and lose your investmentsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Hey everyone, I want to start out with what a delightful community this seems to be!

I figure I have a perspective on coin prices as I have been in and out of this game since 2013. I understand that I am not the earliest of adopters, and I missed the legendary 50c bitcoin but if I had simply held onto everything that I had made mining back then Poloniex estimates that I would have about 40 grand more than I have today.
The reason I lost it all?

Panic trading.

I am no day trader, swing trader, or anything else really. I am just a guy who has been trying to make a bit of side cash on this whole crypto thing. I definitely believe that this is the future and we are a select few who have come at a time of early adoption.

To give you some scale, when I left in 2014 the prices (from memory) were:

1 BTC = $550 USD
1 LTC = $5 USD
1 Doge = a tip of the fedora or niceity online

At one point I saw myself getting past deposits of 35 or so LTC every two days...
I am still kicking myself for selling off and walking.
In fact, when I came back to crypto I found over $300 dollars worth of BTC that was almost worthless prior (like 1-2 dollars per exchange). When I came back in early June of this year I started with 300 dollars in BTC that was before basically dust.

So the moral of this telling of my struggles is when I try to take charge of my finances I end up doing silly things like buying NuBITS on an upspike (only looking at the chart). And fear selling off LTC, more recently than I would like to admit.

Take it from me. This is not the end. Financial analysts are saying this will be a global Trillion dollar industry. So lets enjoy it while its only in the Billions.

Sort:  

Congratulations @jaaybs! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63310.58
ETH 2680.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58