Steem and SBD deposits still disabaled by Poloniex

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Yesterday I wrote an article that Poloniex had disabled Steem and SBD deposits and withdrawals
https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@irfo1/steem-and-sbd-temporarily-disabled-poloniex

@travelersmemoire suggested this is temporary. 24 hours have passed and these coins are not able to be traded after this fork. Is there a precedence for this? I mean for this amount of time to have passed. I do understand glitches, but it just looks fishy.

Poloniex-logo-800px.png

Comments please.

Sort:  

hey irfo, you can change your steem at changelly in ether or bitcoin, nearly whatever you want. if you haven't time to wait, try this way.

Thanks for that. I was just wondering because poloniex is the biggest exchange for steem and if something went wrong with them permanently i guess steem and SBD would drop exponentially

I wouldn't worry to much as I don't think the problem is with Steemit. With PoloniEx it might take some time as @engel42 says they are in over their heads.

Just to chime in again it's odd but I'm guessing just protection against possible bugs, hacking, etc. Given crashes like that of MtGox(I lost a lot there) it's better they play it safe.

so how long do you reckon it will be disabled?

No idea. I wouldn't worry though.

Yeah I'm still waiting to transfer some coins over to Steemit to power up like the badass I am!

Poloniex has major human (and maybe other) resource issues - they lack them. That is the price of having a centralized company which can grow faster then what the owners can handle... happens every day - not just by Poloniex or on the money/crypto market... And that is one reason why I really started to believe in decentralized companies and/or decentralized Exchanges (like Bitshares DEX, etc.)

Yeah I've just been lazy to be honest and stayed with Poloniex but I'll be moving away from them as soon as I can get my STEEM outta there!
I should have got out long ago when the lag issues were constantly losing me money on trades but as I said, I've just been lazy really.

Don't blame yourself on this anymore... Do something, any little thing what you can do on this right NOW. After that decide something: for example, I'll do this and that if I see that they do not reply for my e-mail, or the system lags at this point so and so... etc. These points, what you already decided earlier that the actual issue emerges should simplify your decision - and so the decision will be easier and quicker. Just an advice ;-)

Good on you mate

Sorry dont understand the question Why what?

hahaha, lol ;-) meep!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59304.77
ETH 2534.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41