You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A list of Alt-Coins with masternodes

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

A masternode is sold to the public as a decentralized node that anyone can run.

To me specifically, it means it's a centralized node (one of many), operated by someone who you do not know, that is trusted with your coin transactions to offer pseudo-privacy to them.

It can be considered a centralized transactional network in my books, and one that I do not find to be truly decentralized.

If you have money, you can buy your right to run a masternode.

If you have money, or resources, you can attack or hack a masternode.

Masternodes can be targets. A truly decentralized coin has no specific targets, because there are two many nodes.

Anyway you asked, and I thought I'd share some food for thought.

Sort:  

If you have money, you can run a masternode - true. You can easily take out 1 masternode, but if enough people run one (pivx has over 2k, crw over 600) then I would imagine that it would be hard to take out the network. To me, it is a way to get more decentralized. You might have a great techinical understanding of what I am saying, so please help me understand, I am trying to educate myself!

Please provide links for these numbers...

Often I hear things like "26 masternodes" or "16 masternodes" not the thousands you're talking about..

Currently PIVX has 1900, not over 2k, but that number changes often.

Oh sure... here are the links for PIVX and CRW:
http://178.254.23.111/~pub/DN/DN_masternode_payments_stats.html
https://stats.crowncentral.net/ (scroll down to the market statistics)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57756.99
ETH 3058.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26