Turns out I'm not an idiot, I'm actually a supreme f**k up!

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

I jumped right back into APPC this morning. Yes, on 1-minute candles again. And yes, I’ve already been yelled at. Via text message by my cousin. I know, I know but I couldn’t help. It was so much fun yesterday and I made bank!

As soon as I look at the chart, I see it is at this killer base that has been proving very steady for awhile.

So I bought in a couple of nibbles. More like chunks. Ok, I probably over extended. I figured it would hold and if it did, the next one should catch it. This, of course started the trouble.

You can see on the chart below where I bought in at A and then it hummed along for a few minutes before taking a dive. Like a serious dive! But I was not scared. I had faith in this base and I figured I would buy a crack or two all the way down. Which, I did. My intention was to hold the buys I made at A until it eventually came back up and I could break even.

The real tragedy of this whole event happened at B. I had my stop set just a smidge too high and it didn’t catch. So I lowered it down a little. I knew it was going to come back up. That support has just been too strong!

Then we get to the f******g dumbass part of the story. You see, I’m still trying to get my organizational work flow down. I have some spread sheets set up and I’m learning to use a few of the coinigy graphics to help me keep track of my strategy and plan. Especially with these quick flips, I like to know exactly what I’m going to do before I ever put in the buy order. So I figured out where I think the next panic sell will take it, and then before I put that in, I figure out where I want to sell, that way I can be ready to set up the sell as soon as I get the buy.

Well, I had a couple of other trades that I was scoping out at the time and one of them wasn’t working out, so I cancelled the order I had in. Now, don’t ask me how, but somehow I ended up cancelling the sell order I had set up for APPC as well. And I didn’t notice.

However, right around C I did notice that I had some APPC in my account and I was like WTF? I thought it was from the previous buy and sold it while it was still at a small profit. The problem. Obviously, that was the coin I bought up top!! Holy shit, guys, did I take a wash on that one! I might have thrown a chair.

I decided to check out of APPC for awhile and go look for some more reasonable and calmer environments and try to make up some of that loss. I ended up getting a trade worth ~$100 from BRD and then I came back to APPC to see that it had indeed climbed back up to my break even and then some! SMDH. I told you guys. I’m an idiot.

Oh well! I traded APPC for another ~$50 and then got a ding on NEO. I go check it out and there is a nice crack happening, so I buy in. Then I decide to go all in. I knew it was going to be a slow climb back to profits, but I was willing to wait it out. It felt pretty safe and I was ready to bail with 3% losses if needed. I was already broke on the day, so the additional risk was not too much compared to the reward.

Now, I’ve heard a lot of people say that they love trading NEO. Or maybe I’m just watching old videos? This was my second attempt at this market and I hate it. It’s slow and vicious. This bounce did not go as expected. I did manage to get everything out at a profit, but not what I was hoping for. Once it hit $102/$103 it just became a grudge match. After doing the math and deciding that I was OK with exiting at the fulcrum, this was one of those times where it really seemed like the rest of the market was teaming up on me. I could not get out! It was an all out battle to get my coins sold. I would watch an exit point for about 5 minutes and there would be nothing happening, then as soon as I would put in at the lowest possible ask, 3 or 4 other orders twice or three times as big as mine would jump in before I could get 5% filled! Ugh! So far, I hate NEO! Who out there still loves it? Why?

I spent the rest of the night going over my work-flow and operational procedures. I’ve introduced a couple of safeguards and double-checks to my process that will slow it down a little bit, but should keep another fat finger trade from wiping out my gains (again!). It would have been another banner day. :( I didn't go crazy with revenge trading, I stayed calm and did what I would have normally done. I ended up making about ~$500 on the day but most of it was wiped out by my dumb fingers. So, I only logged ~$10 profit. My daily goal is still under 1.5%/day. I'll count it as a win that I'm not down $500. sheesh!

Good luck out there! Stay organized and don’t trade like an idiot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66158.45
ETH 3552.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61