You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: More Regulations Will Come! & Why I Think That´s Actually A Good Thing In The Long Run!

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

I agree with you, especially when you say: "without regulations there will be no huge mass adoption", however, I think we need to reflect on a two issues.

  1. To what extent can a government regulate the cryptocurrencies operating in its country. This is very important when you realize that the power to regulate can be a precursor to abuse. I believe one of the great advantages of cryptocurrency is privacy. I can conduct my own business without interference. You may argue that this is to check ponzi schemes and scams. Don't forget that it can also be used to target government opposition and activists.

  2. To what degree should it be regulated before businesses can adopt cryptocurrency. I understand that investors and businessmen do not want to take risk they can neither understand or predict. However, if you are trying to look for a broad based acceptance, I think we should learn from the internet. The internet has been adopted by almost all businesses in the world; not because they understand everything about it but because they understand its value. For them, it is a platform to connect with their clients/customers. That should be the case for cryptocurrency too. Undue regulation, so that people can have faith in it, might not necessarily be the best option. For me, let cryptocurrency regulate itself. Let the weak drown, the learners swim and the experts surf.

I'm opened to corrections.

Sort:  

I agree on some of the points you mention above and don´t see regulations as perfect neither. Unfortunately they are necessary though as our society still needs rules to run by these days or we´d all be used by others to make money through illegal activities and scams. It´s a sad truth that we need regulations to feel safe and to trust a technology that handles our wealth.

Cryptocurrencies will regulate themselves anyways though. Only the strongest and safest will survive over time and that´s exactly why I´m totally into steem. It´s fast and safe while still just running on less than 1% of it´s capacity with 1 million daily transactions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57367.79
ETH 3098.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32