Puerto Crypto Conference in San Juan, Puerto Rico - March 2018


With the cryptocurrency boom in 2017, it's no surprise that there are many cryptocurrency conferences around the world.

 I came across this interesting cryptocurrency conference being held in San Juan, Puerto Rico. 

For those who may or may not know, Puerto Rico is part of the United States in the sense that it's part of the US Commonwealth as a territory, not "state-hood". This has allowed Puerto Rico to hold special tax rates that aren't found with the rest of the 50 states.

And as a Spanish-speaking majority (with its past history associated wth Spain), Puerto Rico is truly a beautiful island nation, even after the recent hurricane destruction of Hurricane Maria last year.



Puerto Crypto is a conference that wants to bring together crypto enthusiasts, to an island nation that might become the crypto capital of the Caribbean, and perhaps the Americas.

With Act 22 and Act 20 (which you can see the benefits below), many crypto people, especially those who are US citizens, we'll start seeing in influx of people moving to Puerto Rico.

Especially after Hurricane Maria's destruction, much of the property values on the island are dirt cheap and up for grabs. 

This could be the best opportunity to buy a place and live in Puerto Rico at the moment.

And I hear to qualify for these 0% capital gains, that one must invest property and live at least 180 days out of each year for several years to prove Puerto Rico residency.



The cost to attend Puerto Crypto is $995 for early bird. So not cheap crypto conference fee ..but the information given at the conference should more than make up for that fee.

Although coming from Hawaii, my airfare will be quite expensive, so I'm going to try to break-up my journey and stop-over in Mexico City, since I've never been to Mexico before.

As well, the conference takes place in Condado Vanderbilt Hotel, which has nightly rates of around $350 (taxes/fees) ....which will be quite a lot, so I'll probably just stay in an Airbnb since I'll be spending most of my time at the conference anyways.



Checking out an article I read above, shows that people are wanting to move to Puerto Rico for capital gains tax reasons.




As well, as the crypto market evolves, don't be surprised to see yourself distancing from people and not wanting to talk to "normal" kinds of people anymore. Crypto community really continues to develop and get tighter.


Will you attend Puerto Crypto in March 2018


Sort:  

I've been mulling moving to one of those tax-havens in the Caribbean, and there are many to choose from, but the whole climate situation and these intensifying hurricanes are making me wonder if the risks may be too great.

Next year, we could see another few CAT5 hurricanes and these islands nations may be hit very hard once again.

True ... but I'm not going to let mother nature be such a deciding factor as to whether I should live in a place or not. Just think, if you made profit of 100,000 USD ... wouldn't it be nice to save 30-40% capital gains tax on that? Which would be quite substantial?

I've had pros and cons told to me, especially the cons being:

  • Spanish speaking
  • Third world conditions
  • Pour infrastructure
  • Add another con here.

I went to Luquillo last year in May ... and honestly, it's not that bad. Puerto Rico is much more developed, then say neighboring Haiti and DR. It's all perspective :)

I have read that Puerto Rico's power grid was in a really poor condition even before the hurricanes. I'm sure they will rebuild it though.

Btw, Have you looked into St. Kitts?! I know Roger Ver has a presence there, as well as other poker players and online entrepreneurs.

On the ground in San Juan now. Not bad. Consistent power.

The conference is at the Vanderbilt. So if you get an airbnb and want to be close, get it in the Condado area

I ended up booking a hotel that's 8 minute walk from the Vanderbilt. I'm getting in super late on the Tuesday night before the conference starts that March week. Figured that hotel would be easier to tell a taxi driver where I'm going.

Oh, do you know if there is Uber out there?

But good to know that power is still consistent, at least in San Juan.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59106.19
ETH 2538.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37