You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Battle of Our Times - PoW vs. PoS

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

Hey thanks for the post! It is a very important topic and one that I am interested in.

I use to be a bit of a POW maximalist, but the hash battle between BCH and BSV has shifted my thoughts on it. I'm not certain I can support a switch to POS though, to be honest.

Some circumstances might require POW and other circumstances might benefit more from POS. For example, honestly, I wish Steem was SHA256. I don't care if it would hurt performance, because to me Steem needs to be more about immutable free speech. That is its true and key use case.

Immutability and decentralization are not the same thing. In my mind, immutability is paramount to free speech on the internet, and SHA256 is the most powerful method we have of protecting that.

It is possible for POS to do it, maybe, but I'm not sure any POS system can effectively prevent mutability yet. This is very important to me, and at times I have thought that it is for this reason that a free expression app should be built on Ethereum Classic, which would likely be the best platform for that purpose.

Sort:  

Hello @hobo.media. Thanks for the comments.

I use to be a bit of a POW maximalist, but the hash battle between BCH and BSV has shifted my thoughts on it. I'm not certain I can support a switch to POS though, to be honest.

Same feelings here mate. PoW and its simplicity was the only thing on my mind for a long time. But slowly the fanatic approach began to die as I discovered the flaws and alternatives. I am not necessarily a PoS maximalist either as IMO it still has a lot of problems need to be solved. That's why I ended on a note about trying to find a symbiosis between the two or figuring out an entirely different algorithm altogether. Let's see what the market has to offer.

Amazing comment @hobo.media

Thank you for sharing your knowledge with us.

cheers buddy, Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67975.29
ETH 3240.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66