THANK YOU BITTREX FOR HELPING ME RECOVER MY (LOST) TRANSFER!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)


Exactly 11 days ago, I did a stupid mistake and transferred Steem on the wallet of Steem Dollars... 


A sloppy stupid move which - i thought - would have to be passed under the column "costly error" and to be forgotten as soon as possible, as explained by the introduction of the customer service email I got from Bittrex:

When sending coins to or from Bittrex you must make sure that you always send the coins to an address that is specifically for that coin. This means that BTC must be sent to a BTC address, LTC to an LTC address, ETH to an ETH address, this holds true for all coins on Bittrex. If you have sent your coins to another coins address these coins may be recoverable, but may not be recoverable as well. 

However, how slim the chance, there was hope:

 If the coins were sent to Bittrex we will take a look at whether or not we can recover the coins, if we can we will deposit these coins into the proper coins wallet. This process usually takes over two weeks as it requires us to perform tasks that are time consuming. 

AND TODAY, Bittrex solved the issue and credited the correct wallet - without any fuss and far faster than what I could have expected, considering the huge backlog of tickets their customer service seems to have!

So, for anyone who may have this issue in the future, here are the main informations Bittrex need when you mess a transfer:

1. Number of coins sent   <= easy, I knew the number by heart, crying it out loud in my bed at night...
2. Coin name and address you sent the coins to  <= cf.Bittrex account
3. Coin name and address the coins should have been sent to     <= cf.Bittrex account
4. Transaction hash of the sent coins   

This last point (the 4th) is more tricky and I had no idea how to check the transaction hash until @svamiva let me know about https://steemd.com where you can check ANY article, post, comment and upvote ever made with your own account.

All of that to say it was a very good lesson, and it convinces me that I have made the good choice by joining this exchange platform in the first place:

So, for all of you out there who are like me bumbling novice in the dark arts of cryptocurrencies, fear not: there are truly professionnal beings behind those websites and they mean business and will help you as best as they can and you'll be able to sleep like a baby, knowing your hard-earned money is safe!


)

                                          So, a big THANK YOU to @bittrex !

Sort:  

I have been in the same situation like you ...bittrex also helped me.

A mistake which I will from now on do my best to avoid :) Glad to see these sites are managed by pros

That is so fantastic to hear. You always here of the bad news, but not always the good. Thanks so much for taking the time to spread some good news

It's the least I can do! Thanks, @gringalicious !

Glad you got the money back!

Cheers my friend!

I had a similar experience... I transferred SBD into space, I guess. Bittrex to the rescue- they got it back! Glad you had a happy ending also!

I have a question. 2 days ago, I accidentally donated my one and only .001 reward from botty by trying to promote one of my pictures https://steemit.com/photography/@brentssanders/mystic-peaks. Is there any way I can get my .001 back?

This is truley a relief to know that there is hope for mislabeled coins! Thanks for this post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57768.72
ETH 2943.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66