Sort:  

Thanks for the reply hefziba. Yes, it can seem like a paradox - how can decentralisation give us greater control? I think the main thing is transparency. I'd argue that ensuring that AI algorithm development takes place in an open, peer-reviewed ecosystem dramatically reduces the likelihood of us ever "needing to shut something down" - than trusting a small cabal of corporations to act in our best interests. Rather like how the free market is antithetical to corruption and protectionism. However, whether public or private, building in failsafes etc. has to be a fundamental part of development.

I get what you mean, I’m actually really excited to see where AI can take us, not so much afraid. But I can see that the process of development has no control right now, just like medicine and food didn’t have any controls in the younger years, but are controlled now. I do wonder if decentralized will be the solution to control the process in a peer reviewed way. But I think it’s a very interesting concept.

They have answered your question in one of their recent video where they discussed about the effect.ai project. I will try to find and post it for you soon. Actually your question seems to be more about the basics of decentralization than effect.ai.

Nice - I may have already seen the one you are referring to. But I'd be really interested to see it if you manage to post it. Cheers. ^^

This is the most important features of blockchain tech - transparency and decentralization. And it fits the AI perfectly, like a natural match. I'm glad there are projects like Effect.AI, so the big corporations won't take all AI developement behind closed doors. More competition is always good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85